Gilpin gets first win of 2022 at Brownstown Speedway


The Slicker Graphics Super Late Models were on hand for the running of the 39th Hoosier Dirt Classic on May 14 at Brownstown Speedway, paying $3,000 to win.

Devin Gilpin would chase Chad Stapleton most of the feature event and then make his move in the closing laps of the event to take the lead.

Gilpin went on to record his first Hoosier Dirt Classic victory. Mack McCarter, in his first appearance at Brownstown, worked his way from the back to take second. Stapleton, Tristan Chamberlain and Jared Bailey rounded out the top five. Sixth through 10th were Keegan Cox, Troy Worrick, Brayton Laster, Skyller Lewis and Mike Bechelli.

Gilpin also took home the $500 bonus for overall fast time from class sponsor Slicker Graphics in memory of C.J. Rayburn.

Brayden Watson led the entire feature event in U.S. Air Force Modified action. Rain eventually halted the event with five laps to go. With the race past the halfway mark, Watson got the win over Jordan Wever, John Clippinger, Tim Prince and Matt Boknecht.

Rain forced the rest of the evening’s features to be rescheduled. The Graphix Indiana Late Model Series Pro Late Model and Cain’s Tree Service Hornet features will be made up tonight, along with a regular racing program of pro late models, pure stocks, hornets, crown vics and MMSA mini-sprints. For information, visit

Hoosier Dirt Classic Super Late Model feature finish: Devin Gilpin, Mack McCarter, Chad Stapleton, Tristan Chamberlain, Jared Bailey, Keegan Cox, Troy Worrick, Brayton Laster, Skyller Lewis, Mike Bechelli, Casey White, Caleb Faulkner, Robert Tincher, Scott James, Duane Chamberlain, Isaac Johnson, Quentin White, Dustin Linville-DNS, Kyle Fogt-DNS.

Modified feature finish: Brayden Watson, Jordan Wever, John Clippinger, Tim Prince, Matt Boknecht, Jerry Bland, Jacoby Hines, Nathan Vawter, Ben Burton, Bryson Clark, Jay Baker Sr., Nathan Voorhies, Steve Haefke, A.J. Short, Bob Sterrett, Zachary Stalker, Brent Lee, Michael Wesselman-DNS, Jarod Deckard-DNS, David Winters Jr.-DNS.

Paxson wins at Columbus

Joey Paxson won the season-opening All-Star Circuit of Champions TQ Midget feature May 14 at the Tony Stewart Speedway located on the grounds of the Bartholomew County 4-H Fairgrounds in Columbus.

Tate Martz was second, followed by Matt Lux, Cory Clay and Rylan Gray. Completing the top 10 were Anthony Lawrence, Matthew Hedrick, Stephen Davis, Johnny Goff and Dylan Powell.

The next scheduled event for the series will be tonight at the Shelby County 4-H Fairgrounds in Shelbyville.

Rock Crest finally opens

Rock Crest Raceway, formerly known as Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon, was able to complete its first racing event of the 2022 season on May 13.

Division winners were Landon Simon (sprints), William Burton (pure stocks), Blake Hull (super stocks), Jacob Owens (hornets) and Jeff Roberts (crown vics).

The next event scheduled will be May 29 with the Ted and Sue Collins Memorial for crate late models, super stocks, pure stocks and hornets.

Harris takes Bloomington special

Josh Harris won the Roddy Strong Memorial on May 13 at Bloomington Speedway, earning $4,009 for winning the open wheel modified feature.

The race is run in memorial of the late Rodney Harris Sr. and his son, Roddy Harris. Will Krup finished second, followed by Dillon Nussbaum, Devin Gilpin and Jordan Wever. Completing the top 10 were Brayden Watson, Victor Lee, Jacoby Hines, John DeMoss and Will Bennett.

Zach Sasser won the super stock feature over Austin Phelps, Grant Simpson, Josh Boller and Jeff Allen.

Brady Short was victorious in the sprint car feature over Geoff Ensign, Kyle Cummins, Cody Trammell and Brayden Fox.

The next race at Bloomington will be the Josh Burton Memorial on Friday.

Columbus go-karts tonight

Columbus Speedway Go-Kart Racing, which holds events at the Tony Stewart Speedway, will conclude its two-day King of Columbus events this evening.

Paragon racing tonight

Paragon Speedway will be racing tonight with a full program of 410 non-wing sprints, super stocks, modifieds, bombers and hornets. The May 14 races were rained out. For information, visit

Lawrenceburg off tonight

The next scheduled event at Lawrenceburg Speedway will be May 30 with the World of Outlaw Sprint Cars. The races scheduled for May 14 were rained out. For information, visit

Local racer passes away

Dan Sallee of Elizabethtown died May 13. He was 63.

Sallee was a longtime competitor at several tracks in the area, but mainly at Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon. He also built cars for several teams and drivers. His older brother, Willie, is a member of the Twin Cities Hall of Fame.

This week in racing history

From 70 years ago in 1952 at Columbus Speedway, Larry Fleener won the feature race over Gene Minor, Dale Miller and Bud Greathouse.

From 50 years ago this weekend in 1972 at Brownstown, it was Jim Curry winning the late model feature over Ira Bastin, Jack Owens, Ed Covey and Mac Vails.

Also from 1972 at Haubstadt, Dick Gaines won the sprint car feature over Butch Wilkerson, Gene Henson and Calvin Gilstrap. Jim Curry won the late model feature over Jack Owens, Ira Bastin and Chris Bradley.

This weekend 50 years ago at Twin Cities, Tommy Day won the feature over Johnny Robbins, Phil Fultz, Hillbilly Ogle and Danny Eichler.

From 40 years ago in 1982 at Brownstown, Ray Godsey won the late model feature over Jim Curry, Noel Witcher, Kenny Simpson and Bob Fleetwood. John Mull won the street stock feature over Darrell Hunter, Jack Turner, Dave Barnett and Bob Johnson.

Also from 1982 at Twin Cities, Steve Boley won the limited late model feature over Lee Fleetwood, Larry Detmer, Dee Kramer and Tim Engelau. Darrell Smallwood took the street stock feature over Tom Franks, Bill Franks, Charlie Hartwell and Chuck Gilpin.

From 1982, the Columbus Go-Kart Club was in action with Tony Stewart, Taulby Donnell, Todd Niblack, Baron Shirley, John Pollock and David Daugherty all winning their respective classes.

Lawrenceburg Speedway opened its 1982 racing season with Greg Staab winning the sprint car feature over Bernie Graybeal. Vern LeFevers won the late model feature race.

Also from 40 years ago, Fred Linder won the All-Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Car feature at Charlestown Motor Speedway over Greg Staab, Dave Blaney, Kelly Kinser and Bob Kinser.

From 30 years ago in 1992 at Brownstown, Joe Roush won the CRA sprint car feature over Frankie Kerr, Kevin Thomas, Gary Fisher and Terry Shepherd. Randy Petro won the street stock feature over Mark Barber, Tim Clark, Jeff Wilson and Darren Davis.

Also from 30 years ago at Haubstadt, Bob Pierce won the late model feature over Eddie Pace and Doug McCammon. Gary Hayhurst Jr. took the sprint car feature over Larry Bland and Mark Cummins.

From 20 years ago in 2002 at Brownstown, Steve Barnett won the late model feature over Duane Chamberlain, Dan Sturgeon, Shawn Negangard and Brad Cummings. Matt Boknecht won the modified feature over Brent Londeree, Daryl Herbert, Clint DeMoss and Richie Lex. Clifton Barron won the bomber main event over Jason Combs, Matt Cummings, Ray Godsey Jr. and Willie Sallee.

Also from 2002 at Twin Cities, it was Kevin Briscoe winning the sprint car feature over Brandon Wimmer, Raymond Shank, Curt Trainer and Chris Borgman. Tim Clark won the super stock feature over Jeff Wilson, Chris Deweese, David Smith and Mickey Hines. Seth Hull took the mini-stock feature over John Martin, Mickey Roberts, Louise Shepherd and Charles Schultheis.

No posts to display