Seymour boys tennis hosted banquet on Tuesday


The Seymour boys tennis team hosted their team banquet and award dinner on Tuesday evening.

After another successful season that included winning a sectional title for the second straight season. The team posted a record of 17-4.

Seymour Head Coach Jacob Hunt spoke about the successful 2023 campaign.

“We had a really good season, especially after losing the amount of seniors that we did,” he said. “We considered this to be a building year for us, we made it a goal to cultivate these young players into great players. I think we did just that. We were able to win our second straight sectional championship.”

Awards were announced for the 2023 season at the banquet.

Bryce Peters was selected as the JV’s most improved player for his efforts. Varsity handed out three awards; MVP, Most Improved, and Rookie of the Year.

Owls No. 1, Joe Schmidt, took home the MVP award for his stellar campaign.Parker Thompson served as the second player for Seymour, earning Most Improved Honors.

Carter Stein took home the Rookie of the Year Award after posting a record of 18-5 in his first season with the Owls.

Hunt spoke about the award winners this season.

“Joe earned the MVP award for being a talented player and incredible leader of the team, battling sickness and injuries throughout,” Hunt said. “Thompson earned most improved for his major adjustment to playing singles. He stepped up to the plate for us in a big way.”

“Bryce earned JV most improved for his quick improvement. Picking up tennis for the first time over the summer, he got so much better during the season,” Hunt added.

“Carter earned Rookie of the Year honors because he was our most reliable player on the court. He was usually finishing early, being very aggressive and capitalizing on every point. We didn’t really have to coach him a lot, and we really depended on him this season and he delivered.”

Congratulations to the Owls on a successful 2023 season.

Varsity Letters

Joe Schmidt (4 years)

Parker Thompson (3 years)

Drew Handloser (2 years)

Joel Stevens (first year)

Shun Takeuchi (first year)

Xavier DuBois (first year)

Carter Stein (first year)

Braylon Busby (first year)

JV Players

Colin Hartung, Griffin Eggers, Jacob Rennekamp, Bryce Peters, Abram Yee, Cash McNeely, and Yuto Chinda


Tori Fee, Addison Hunsley, and Ava Sunbury

No posts to display