Great golf for a great cause: Dr. Bud Charity Golf Tournament sees biggest turnout since 2007


A total of 27 nursing students from Jackson, Scott and Washington counties will share $44,000 in scholarships as a result of the 41st Dr. Bud Charity Golf Tournament held Wednesday at Shadowood Golf Course in Seymour.

Dr. Eric Fish, president and chief executive officer of Schneck Medical Center said just shy of $700,000 has been raised for nursing scholarships over the years.

A total of 248 golfers registered to play Wednesday.

“That is the biggest turnout since 2007 with 62 teams,” Fish said. “It has just been a great show of support and is a huge benefit for our nursing program.”

The team of Dave Self, Andon Self, Joe Bullard and Tyler Bullard placed first with a score of 54.

Matt Lucas, Steve Bush, George Covey and Greg Musser placed second with a 58. Four teams shot 58, so second through fifth places were determined on a backwards check of the scorecards.

The team of Greg Zabor, Emma Zabor, Matt Johnson and Max Otte was third; Derek Stuckwisch, Michael Davidson, Kyle Warren and Scott Jackson were fourth; Jeff Nolting, Marvin Veatch, J.B. Hackman and Brian Hamp were fifth; and Travis Carlisle, Dave Geis, John Polly and Sam Hunter shot 59 to place sixth.

Four teams shot 59s, so again, a backwards check of the scorecard was used to determine the places.

Fish said the number of event sponsors increased this year at all levels.

“We had our largest number of platinum sponsors and corporate sponsors this year. We had great support from everybody involved,” he said. “I couldn’t be happier. I couldn’t be more thankful to everyone who was here today playing. We had a lot of great support from the women of the community. We were talking earlier, a lot more of the younger golfers were out supporting this, which is great to see, as well.”

The closest to the pin hole for the women was the 104-yard, par 3 13th hole, and Anne Carlin won the competition by shooting a hole-in-one.

She said it was her first hole-in-one of her career.

“It’s exciting. I’ve been playing since I was in third grade,” Carlin said. “I used a 9 iron. I can’t believe it.”

Her employer, Northwest Bank, sponsored two teams in the tournament.

“We came out here because it’s a great cause, and my daughter is also a recipient of the award,” she said.

Chloe Carlin, a graduate of Brownstown Central High School, is studying nursing at the University of Evansville, where she is a junior. She was one of the 44 students to receive a scholarship this year.

“It’s for a great cause. It’s great for the community,” Anne said. “It’s great to give back. Those nurses work really hard.”

Another tournament participant was Dr. Wes Whitler.

“It means a lot to the hospital community and for kids that the scholarships that are being offered on a regular basis,” he said. “This is the 41st year for the tournament, and it’s a staple thing that everybody anticipates.”

He said the nearly $700,000 that has been raised for the nursing scholarships is amazing for a community this size.

“When I moved to town, Dr. Bud (H.P. “Bud” Graessle) wasn’t working anymore, but we’d occasionally see him in the emergency department or in the hospital, so his name means something here in the community of Seymour,” Whitler said. “So it’s nice that an event like this continues to honor him year after year. We’re blessed that we have such a beautiful opportunity and have a nice course here.”

Closest to the pin for the men was Reuben Cummings. John Polly had the longest drive for the men, and Ashley Mitchell had the longest drive for the women.

Brian Savilla made the longest putt for the men, and Amanda Mitchell made the longest putt for the women.

“It’s great to see a lot of people playing golf again,” Fish said. “It’s a great game.”

Individuals awarded Dr. Bud Scholarships this year include Brandy Black, Ivy Tech; Mackenzie Byram, IU Southeast; Chloe Carlin, University of Evansville; Owen Chandler, Ball State University; Olivia Clark, Ivy Tech; Kaelen Eglen, IUPUC; Zoe Fountain, Indiana Wesleyan; Sarah Hayes, IUPUC; Lacey Hirtzel, Ivy Tech; Kennedy Hoffman, Otterbein; Emily Koch, Indiana State University; Tara Lowe, Ivy Tech; Laremie Maschino, University of Indianapolis; Sydney Musgrave, Purdue; Erin Nelson, University of Indianapolis; Jozie Nicholson, Ball State; Emma Grace Norman, Ivy Tech; Reina Puckett, IU Southeast; Payton Reasoner, Purdue; Shelby Reynolds, University of Indianapolis; Macy Sigman, IUPUC; Amanda Sinclair, IUPUC; Tyra Squibb, IUPUC; Emily Thompson, Marian University; Amy Voss, IUPUC; Akaya Walker, University of Louisville; and Alexis Williams, IU Southeast.

No posts to display