Hughes gets first win for PCC Motorsports at Eldora


By James Essex

Spencer Hughes took the lead on Lap 27 and went on to win the Baltes Classic on Sept. 5 at Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio.

Hughes earned $5,000 for his first win at Eldora and his first since joining the Craig and Shannon Sims-owned race team based in Hope.

Trailing Hughes across the finish line were Martinsville native Hudson O’Neal, who now lives in Hope, Jon Henry, Clint Keenan and Nathon Loney.

The winner’s PCC Motorsports Team Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and sponsored by Professional Concrete, Cutting and Drilling, Roth Heating and Cooling, Bilstein Shocks, CFM Truck Repair and Bob and Tammy Burton.

Tonight, Eldora will host the 50th annual World 100 paying $53,000 to win. For ticket and event info, go to

Overton still winning

Brandon Overton continues to dominate victory lane at Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway as he won the 51st annual World 100 on Thursday.

Overton took the lead on Lap 71 from Dale McDowell and then went on to collect the $54,000 first-place prize.

Overton, who swept the double dream races in June at the track, has now won more than $327,000 at the historic racetrack in 2021.

Tim McCreadie finished in second, followed by McDowell, Hudson O’Neal and Jonathan Davenport.

Completing the top 10 were Devin Moran, Chris Ferguson, Ricky Thornton Jr., Gregg Satterlee and Kyle Strickler.

Scott and McCreadie take Eldora prelims

Johnny Scott and Tim McCreadie each won a $10,000-to-win preliminary feature Wednesday at Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway.

Scott won the first 25-lap event for his first win at Eldora. Nick Hoffman was second, followed by Brandon Sheppard, Bobby Pierce and Jonathan Davenport.

McCreadie, the current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series points leader, came from ninth to win the second feature over Shannon Babb, Darrell Lanigan, Hudson O’Neal and Jimmy Owens.

Peeden wins at Circle City

Steve Peeden of Paragon won the crate late model feature Sept. 5 at Circle City Raceway in Indianapolis.

Tyler Collins finished second, followed by Alan Magner, Zack Burton, Jeremy Creech, Colton Sullivan, Chad Stapleton, Eddie VanMeter, John Mayer Jr. and Brad Barrow.

Brownstown rained out

Late afternoon rain Sept. 4 wiped out Fan Appreciation Night at Brownstown Speedway.

The track will be idle tonight and resume its 2021 schedule Sept. 18 with pro late models, super stocks, pure stocks, crown vics and hornets.

Brownstown has set its Jackson 100 week of racing for Sept. 23, 24 and 25. Sept. 23 will be the completion of the Indiana Icebreaker from March. The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned event will pay $15,000 to win. Also racing will be modifieds and pure stocks.

Sept. 24 will be the Night Before the Jackson 100 featuring a $10,000-to-win event for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series along with the Bowman 50 for pro late models. Modifieds also will be running that night.

Sept. 25 will be the 42nd annual Jackson 100 paying $20,000 to win. Also on the schedule will be modifieds and super stocks.

For advance and reserved tickets for the three days of racing, go to

Swanson wins at Bloomington

Jake Swanson took top honors Sept. 3 at Bloomington Speedway, winning the Josh Burton Memorial Race for sprint cars. Swanson earned $10,000 for the win.

Lawrenceburg rained out

Lawrenceburg Speedway fell victim to Mother Nature on Sept. 4 as its scheduled racing program was rained out.

Lawrenceburg will be idle tonight. The next scheduled event will be Sept.18 with the Night of Champions featuring sprints, modifieds, pure stocks and hornets. For information, visit

This week in racing history

From 70 years ago in 1951 at Columbus Speedway, Crowbar Taylor won the feature race over Charlie Beatty, Earl Smith and Dave DeSpain.

From 50 years ago tonight in 1971 at Brownstown Speedway, Kenny Simpson won the late model feature over Ira Bastin, Luther Burton, Chris Bradley and Russ Petro.

Also from 1971, the Columbus Go-Kart Club winners were Troy Smith, Bruce Cunningham, Bruce Nolting, Gene Wilbur and Bob McClure.

From 40 years ago in 1981 at Kokomo Speedway, Kerry Norris won the sprint car feature over Allen Barr.

No posts to display