Columbus Speedway go-karts holds big weekend of racing

The Columbus Speedway Go-Kart Racing series conducted a two-day show last weekend at the Bartholomew County 4-H Fairgrounds in Columbus.

The division winners from May 14 were Connor Perry (rookies), Landon Fletcher (clone 420), Calli Lucas (box stock pred), Evan Shatto (clone 340 and clone 380), Jacob Chadd (junior 2), Juan Grino (rwyb), Jentry Cash (junior 1), Scott Roccia (flathead 365) and Jacob Peelman (junior 3).

The division winners from May 15 were Hunter Bowman (rookies), Mike Dickerson (clone 420), Calli Lucas (box stock pred), Nathan Lynch (clone 340), Jacob Chadd (junior 2), Colton Aldridge (rwyb), Dylan Trost (junior 1), Joey Pendergrass (flathead 360), Grant Hiler (junior 3) and Dustin Heath (clone 380).

The next event is May 29.

Several different winners at Brownstown

A total of seven feature events highlighted Saturday Night Racing on May 15 at Brownstown Speedway.

Six of the seven feature winners would get their first win of the year at the track with two drivers recording their first feature wins there.

Devin Gilpin of Columbus visited victory lane for the first time in 2021 at Brownstown in the Slicker Graphics Super Late Model feature. He was trailed at the finish by Jared Bailey, Shelby Miles, Britan Godsey, Alan Edsall, Skyller Lewis, Ethan Toedter, Mason Covey, Dusty Chapman and Michael Wesselman.

In P3 Graphix ILMS Pro Late Model action, Raymond Humphrey of Bloomington got his first win of the year ahead of Tyler Neal, Steve Peeden, Keaton Streeval, Austin Burton, Dylan Norman, Josh Boller, Brad Barrow, Robert Rainey and Justin Bowling.

Jacoby Hines of Trafalgar recorded his first win of the year in the Backwoods Express modifieds. He led Brayden Watson, Zachary Stalker, Karlie Holt and Logan Mounce at the finish.

The Pewter Hall Super Stocks had two features for the night. In the makeup feature from May 8, Tommy East of Bedford picked up his first Brownstown win over Brad Cummings, Steve Hollars, Zach Sasser and Tim Eddelman. In the second Super Stock feature of the night, Tucker Chastain of Bedford got his first feature of 2021 over Mike Fields, Steve Hollars, J.T. Huffman and Tanner Chastain.

The Crown Vics also ran two feature events. The makeup feature from May 8 saw Phillip Boudreaux of New Albany visit victory lane for the first time at Brownstown. Ryan Seay, Jack Roberts, Greg Greene and Josh Spence completed the top five.

In the second feature of the night, Michael Cranmer of Jeffersonville recorded his second win of the year. Brandon Cranmer, Anthony Finley, Jack Roberts and Trevor Cranmer followed at the checkers.

Tonight, Brownstown will be racing with the pro late models, open wheel modifieds, pure stocks, crown vics and hornets. For information, visit

Nicely wins Twin Cities

Tyler Nicely of Owensboro, Kentucky, won the American Modified Series feature May 15 at Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon. Josh Harris finished second to Nicely, followed by Victor Lee, Trent Green and Ryan Thomas.

Other feature winners were Josh Turner of Edinburgh (super stocks), Jerry Adams of Elizabethtown (pure stocks), Shane Wheeler of Morgantown (hornets), Jeffery Cranmer of Memphis (Crown Vics) and Donnie Gentry of Henderson, Kentucky (410 steel block sprints).

Tonight, Twin Cities will host the Bill "Pappy" Fleetwood Memorial with 410 sprint cars, MMSA mini-sprints, pure stocks, super stocks, hornets and crown vics. For information, visit

O’Neal wins Eldora

Martinsville native Hudson O’Neal, who now resides in Hope, won the Sunoco American Late Model feature May 15 at Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio.

O’Neal, who started fifth, took the lead on the 10th lap from Kyle Bronson and then pulled away for the $5,000 victory. Darrell Lanigan finished second, followed by Devin Moran, Bronson and Stormy Scott.

Tonight, Eldora will host the NRA Sprint Invaders, modifieds and Eldora stock cars. For information, visit

Hoffman takes Bloomington mods

Nick Hoffman of Mooresville, North Carolina, won the Roddy Strong Memorial for open wheel modifieds May 14 at Bloomington Speedway.

Tyler Nicely finished second, followed by Cole Falloway, Jacoby Hines and Josh Harris.

Jadon Rogers of Worthington won the sprint car feature over Jordan Kinser, Andy Bradley, A.J. Hopkins and Sterling Cling.

Austin Phelps of Hillsdale won the super stock feature over Wes McClara, Brad Cummings, Bryce Shidler and Zach Sasser.

The next event will be the Josh Burton Memorial on May 28.

Grant wins at Lawrenceburg

Justin Grant won the BOSS sprint car feature May 15 at Lawrenceburg Speedway. Brady Bacon finished second, followed by Thomas Meseraull, Nick Bilbee and Tyler Kendall.

Pete Holt won the modified feature over David Spille, Cory Skipton, Steve Bilenstein and Gary Dunaway. Will McRoberts won the pure stock feature, and Cordell Moore took the hornet feature.

There will be no racing tonight at Lawrenceburg. The next scheduled event will be May 31 with the World of Outlaw Sprint Cars and modifieds. For information, visit

Florence racing tonight

After an off weekend, Florence Speedway in Union, Kentucky, will be back in action tonight with a $3,000-to-win late model feature race. Also competing will be crate late models, open wheel modifieds, sport mods and hornets.

For information, visit

This week in racing history

From 50 years ago tonight in 1971 at Brownstown, it was Bob Fleetwood winning the late model feature over Ira Bastin, Pete Willoughby, Don Hobbs and Russ Petro.

Also, from 50 years ago this weekend at Haubstadt, it was Sheldon Kinser winning the sprint car feature over Chuck Amati and Larry Miller. Don Hobbs won the late model feature over Sonny Ashby and Tom Helfrich.

From 50 years ago in 1971 at Whitewater Valley Speedway in Liberty, it was Rollie Alvers winning the late model feature race over Ron Baker, George Morgan, Billy Brandenburg and Dave Tate.

At Twin Cities in 1971, Tommy Day remained unbeaten, winning his sixth straight feature to begin the season. Bruce Steinert was second, followed by Pee Wee Day, Tom Franks and Jim Giltner.

From 40 years ago this weekend in 1981 at Brownstown, Don Hobbs won the late model feature over Tom Helfrich, Dick Phillips, Pat Patrick and Larry Owens. Regis Scaggs won the modified street stock feature over Troy Burton, Don Barnett, Ernie Niemoeller and Larry Plessinger.

Also, from this weekend in 1981 at Paragon, it was Randy Kinser winning the sprint car feature over Kerry Norris, Russ Racine, Tom Goad and Larry Martin.

From this weekend in 1981 at Twin Cities, it was Gary Herbert winning the late model feature over Garry Mahoney, Chuck Gilpin, Dee Kramer and Phil Fultz. Don Walp won the street stock feature race over Willie Sallee, Randy Spry, Ron Hoover and R.C. Calton.

From 30 years ago in 1991 at Bloomington, it was Steve Kinser winning the sprint car feature over Sammy Swindell, Mark Kinser, Kelly Kinser and Danny Smith.

From 20 years ago in 2001 at Brownstown, Bob Pierce won the Kenny Simpson Memorial Race over Steve Barnett, Doug McCammon, Steve Hillard and Kevin Claycomb. Bubba Woods won the bomber feature over Matt Bex, Robert Walters, Charlie Stevens Jr. and Matt Cummings. Gregg O’Neill won the super stock feature over Mike Fields, Joe Johnson, Darin George and Gary Green.

No posts to display