Voter registration ends next week


Those still needing to register to vote have just one week left until the Oct. 5 deadline.

Registration can be done by visiting or calling the Jackson County Voter Registration Office at 812-358-6120.

Once registered, there will be a few different options for how to go about casting votes.

For those looking to vote absentee, a vote-by-mail ballot can be requested until Oct. 22.

Ballots can be requested online at by clicking the box saying “apply now” under the vote by mail or traveling board option, clicking on “visit my voter portal” and filling out the information.

Once the information is submitted, click on the “vote by mail” button within your voter portal, fill it out and submit the application.

From that site, people also can print off an application that can be mailed to the county clerk’s office at 109 S. Sugar St., Suite 130, Brownstown, IN 47220.

Additionally, an application can be requested by calling the clerk’s office at 812-358-6117 or the voter registration office at 812-358-6120. An application also can be requested by emailing Andrea Edwards at aedwards@jackson or county Clerk Melissa Hayes at [email protected].

Mail-in ballots must make it back to the voter registration office by noon on Election Day, which is Nov. 3.

There also will be early in-person voting sites in Seymour and Brownstown from Oct. 6 to 30.

The Seymour site will be located at the former Superior Court I, 1420 Corporate Way. It will be open from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday. It also will be open from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. Oct. 24 and 31.

The Brownstown site will be at the Jackson County Judicial Center, 109 S. Sugar St. The hours for that site will be 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday and 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. Oct. 24 and 31.

Both sites will be closed Oct. 12 for Columbus Day.

For in-person voting on Election Day, that will be done at each predetermined location for the individual precinct. Those sites will be open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.

If you are unsure of which precinct you live in or where your voting site is, that information can be found online at under the “visit my voter portal” section.

Contested races in the upcoming election include president of the United States between Democratic nominee Joe Biden and current Republican President Donald Trump.

Locally, District 69 state representative will be decided between Jim Lucas (R), Katrina Hardwick (I) and Jeffery Prewitt (D).

The Ninth Congressional District representative race is between Trey Hollingsworth (R) and Andy Ruff (D).

In Jackson County, the race for coroner has come down to Paul Foster (R) and Jeff Walters (D).

In the race for county commissioner District 2 are Bob Gillaspy (R) and John Schafstall (D).

There are six candidates vying for three at-large county council seats: Dave Hall (R), John Nolting (R), Brett Turner (R), Brad Smith (D), Scott Olsen (D) and Yvonne Willhite (D).

No posts to display