Collins grabs victory at Brownstown Speedway

Tyler Collins of North Vernon captured his first win at Brownstown Speedway on July 25, winning the pro late model feature.

It was the first win since 2018 for the 26-year-old racer.

For Collins, it was his second career feature win. His first one came in 2018 at Daugherty Speedway in Boswell.

“Winning at Brownstown where we have so much family history meant the world to me,” said Collins, who outran Raymond Humphrey of Bloomington, Marty O’Neal of Spencer, Colton Sullivan of Columbus and Greg Kendall of Paoli.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]

“I remember being there when I was very young watching my uncle, Tory, race,” he said. “My dad (Trent) would always tell me stories of him and Tory growing up there playing when they were young while grandpa was working on the track. Since I was little watching races there, all I ever dreamed about was one day being able to be out there in a late model.”

The Collinses have a very strong family connection to Brownstown. Collins’ grandfather, Ted Collins, co-promoted Brownstown for 13 years between 1967 and 1980.

“When I started racing in 2017, Brownstown was the first track I went to, starting off running the whole ILMS schedule,” Tyler said. “When I started, I was already well aware of all the good drivers from my years of watching from the stands.”

Racing against the drivers he watched, however, was different.

“Then being out there with them that first year, I realized just how fast and good those guys actually were, and I wasn’t sure if I would ever be able to be good enough to beat them,” he said.

Tyler was very proud to finish first last weekend.

“I just know my grandpa had to be looking down on me smiling Saturday night when we finally got that win and parked in victory lane,” he said.

Jared Bailey of Bedford became the eighth different winner in eight races this season in the open wheel modified division. Derek Groomer of Bloomington finished second, followed by Jacoby Hines of Trafalgar in third. Completing the top five were Salem drivers Tim Rivers and Zachary Stalker.

Tucker Chastain of Bedford won the super stock feature race, becoming the first repeat winner in the class in 2020. Mike Fields of Scottsburg was second with Matt Boknecht of Seymour, Zach Sasser of Bedford and Steve Hollars of Bloomington rounding out the top five drivers.

Dusten Carr of Underwood won his third straight pure stock feature, topping Dalton Fleenor of Salem, Mark Hines of North Vernon, Tommy Fleenor of Salem and Brent McMillan of North Vernon.

Brian Henderson Sr. won his first Brownstown feature by taking the hornet division feature. Lucas Jackson of North Vernon trailed Henderson across the line in second, followed by Kaleb Caudill, Tony Napier of North Vernon and Brian Mitchell of Salem.

Tonight, Brownstown will host the eighth Paul Crockett Memorial Race for super late models, paying $2,500 to win. Also competing will be pro late models, modifieds, super stocks and hornets.

For information, visit

Columbus Speedway Go-Kart results

The Columbus Speedway Go-Kart Racing at the Bartholomew County 4-H Fairgrounds raced July 25.

The division winners were Devin Smith (340 clone), Calli Lucas (jr. 3), Jake Roell (jr. 1), Elijah Knoke (jr. 2), Zach Roell (rookie), Gabe Wells (sr. champ), Mike Sullivan (clone 400), Jake Beck (clone 280) and John Trowbridge (flat head).

Racing continues today at the Bartholomew County 4-H Fairgrounds. Gates open at 1 p.m.

USAC Indiana Sprint Week results

The 2020 USAC Indiana Sprint Week kicked off July 24 at Gas City I-69 Speedway.

Logan Seavey won the opening day main event over Chase Stockon, Justin Grant, Kyle Cummins and Thomas Meseraull.

On July 25, Kokomo Speedway was the site of Round 2 with C.J. Leary capturing the victory over Brady Bacon, Justin Grant, Robert Ballou and Chase Stockon. Leary went back-to-back with his triumph at Lawrenceburg Speedway on July 26.

At Lawrenceburg, Leary won over Chris Windom, Brady Bacon, Chase Stockon and Carson Short. On July 29 at Terre Haute Action Track, Justin Grant picked up the win over Chris Windom, Chase Stockon, C.J. Leary and Shane Cottle.

Action concludes tonight at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt.

Paragon Speedway results

Kody Barksdale won the sprint car feature July 24 at Paragon Speedway.

Jordan Kinser finished second with Chase Jones taking third. Completing the top five were Nick Bilbee and Josh Cunningham.

Chris Hillman Jr. won the hornet division feature over Cordell Moore, Greg Garrison, Alex Wilson and Jeremy Wilson.

Levi Kissinger won the open wheel modified feature over Derek Groomer, Brad DeYoung, John DeMoss and Caleb DeMoss. Josh Litton took the super stock main event over Justin Massie, Tyler Neal, Bryce Shidler and Kyle Johnson.

This week in racing history

In 1950 at 25th Street Fairgrounds Raceway in Columbus, hometown driver Larry Crockett won the Mutual Racing Association feature over Red Amick, Bobby Stokes and Carl Smith.

On Aug. 1, 1970, at Brownstown Speedway, Teako Ray won his second straight feature race over Jim Curry, Ira Bastin, Pete Willoughby and Jack Owens.

Also, from 1970, Rex Mitchell won the sprint car feature at Bloomington Speedway over Sheldon Kinser, Bobby Black, Leon Thickstun and Mike Johnson.

On this night in 1970 at Paragon Speedway, Allen Barr won the sprint car feature over Larry Miller, Gene Henson, Danny Bowlen and Dick Gaines.

Also from 1970 at Haubstadt, Gene Henson won the sprint feature race over Richard Poe, Rex Mitchell, Cliff Cockrum and Bob Kinser.

From 1980 at Haubstadt, Tom Helfrich won the late model feature over Pete Willoughby, Kenny Simpson, Don Hester and Jim Elliott.

In 1980 at Charlestown Motor Speedway, Charlie Swartz won the late model feature over Ray Godsey, Pete Willoughby, Billy Childers and Tommy Day. Gary Harden took the hobby stock feature over Danny Eichler, John Mull, Bobby Carrier Sr. and Steve Boley.

In 1980 at Putnamville, Ray Godsey won the late model feature over Noel Witcher, Roger Absher, Russ Petro and Larry Taylor. Bob Kinser grabbed the sprint car feature over Ron Dorsett, Larry Goad, Rickey Hood and Mark Todd.

In 2010 at Brownstown, Mark Barber won the late model feature over Mike Jewell, Dillan White, Steve Barnett and Edgar Godsey. Earl Plessinger won the modified feature over Devin Gilpin, Clint DeMoss, Ryan Thomas and Adam Sasser. Aaron Fields won the bomber feature over Bubba Woods, Keaton Streeval, Brandon Reed and Kelly Lee. Cody Vanosdol won the pure stock feature over Tim Roberts, Brian Ballard, Donnie Wilson and Willie Sallee.

No posts to display