Thumbs-Up, Thumbs-Down – February 22


Good sports

Thumbs-up to Tim and Sally Goodpaster for starting the Enter His Courts basketball league in 1988. The organization continues its mission of teaching, encouragement and love through the basketball league while sharing the hope of the Gospel of Jesus Christ with players and their fans. Somewhere between 15,000 and 20,000 boys and girls have been served by the program since that first basketball game was played more than 30 years ago.

Gold medalist

Thumbs-up to Brownstown Central High School senior D.J. Caseñas who received a gold medal and finished one point away from a perfect score with her vocal solo during the Indiana State School Music Association State Vocal Contest at Perry Meridian High School this past weekend.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]

Flying high

Thumbs-up to 18-year-old Boy Scout Matthew Rennekamp of Seymour who recently earned the rank of Eagle Scout. Rennekamp, who was recognized during a ceremony at St. Ambrose Catholic Church, decided to organize a library system for visitors who visit the Freeman Army Airfield Museum for his Eagle Scout community service project. The system allows visitors to check out books from the museum’s library.


Thumbs-up to Zach Spicer and all of the staff of The Tribune for their time and effort; Jackson County Sheriff Rick Meyer and his staff; Jail Commander Chris Everhart and his staff; Kelly Brown, Jennifer Fillmore, Melissa Thompson and Phil Stucky with Centerstone; Bobby Shepard and Tim Williams of New Creation Ministries; Charlotte Moss of Turning Point Domestic Violence Services; and the judicial system of Jackson County in its entirety. We are grateful for each and every one of you who supports and has faith in this program and the men in it. Thank you.

The men of the therapeutic pod, including James B. Hatton, at the Jackson County Jail


Thumbs-up to the Brownstown Central Middle School students recently selected by teachers as courtesy award winners for the second trimester. The vote has to be unanimous among the teachers, and they base their choice on how courteous and helpful the students are to the staff and to their fellow peers. To sum it up, the recipients are a pleasure to have in class and a great example for others. The winners were sixth-graders Will Baker, Presley Hampton, Skyler Deckard and Bella Brown; seventh-graders Rylee Barnard, Addisyn Osborne, Grant Black and Lane Zike; and eighth-graders Violet Plumm, Kalee Borden, Landon Hehman and Elix Preston.

No posts to display