Two incumbents retain county council seats; one newcomer joining


A pair of incumbents earned another four years on the Jackson County Council, while a newcomer garnered enough votes for another seat.

In District 1, Republican incumbent Michael Davidson of Seymour defeated Democrat Catherine “Cathy” Stuckwisch of Brownstown 2,586-1,165.

The District 2 race featured two political newcomers. Republican Mark Hackman of Seymour came out on top against Democrat Barry Stuckwisch of Seymour 2,823-1,261.

Brian Thompson of Cortland, the Republican incumbent in District 3, received 2,393 votes to 951 for Democrat Mary Voss Burgmeier of Seymour.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]

Republican Kari Storey of Seymour was uncontested for District 4. She received 2,660 votes.

The other three council seats, which won’t be up for election until 2020, are at-large. They are held by John Nolting, Dave Hall and Ann Cain.

The council has the ultimate decision-making power regarding fiscal affairs. It has the authority to view or review fiscal matters, determine proper policy and set priorities for the allocation and expenditure of county funds.

Davidson said he appreciates the opportunity to serve another four years.

“I’m just really proud of the race we ran. I’m really honored to get all of those votes from everybody,” said Davidson, who does medical device sales for BD Medical.

He also thanked his opponent.

“She’s a class act,” Davidson said. “I told her I really appreciated her running a good race. It takes a lot to go run a campaign. It really does. You’ve got to get out of your comfort zone, and you’ve got to campaign. She did a good job.”

Hackman, owner of Hackman Show Feed, said since winning the primary election, he has gone to all of the county council meetings to get to know everybody and figure out how they run their meetings.

“That’s a good crew on there right now, and I’m looking forward to working with those guys,” he said.

He said he’s glad the election is over now so he can concentrate on what he has been elected for — serving the residents of Jackson County.

“I totally appreciate everybody that went out and voted today and everybody that let me put a sign in their yard or on their property,” Hackman said.

Along with serving on the county council in recent years, Thompson serves on the Immanuel Lutheran Church Foundation Board and Jackson County Sheriff’s Merit Board. He also served on the Jackson County Co-op Credit Union board of directors for 17 years and Hamilton Township Advisory Board and has managed a family business for 37 years.

[sc:pullout-title pullout-title=”How You Voted” ][sc:pullout-text-begin]

Jackson County Council

District 1

Michael Davidson (R) (incumbent) 2,586

Catherine “Cathy” Stuckwisch (D) 1,165

District 2

Mark Hackman (R) 2,823

Barry Stuckwisch (D) 1,261

District 3

Brian Thompson (R) (incumbent) 2,393

Mary Voss Burgmeier (D) 951

District 4

Kari Luedeman Storey (R) 2,660


No posts to display