Deadline approaches for school board candidates


The deadline for declarations of candidacy for a seat on one of three school boards in Jackson County is approaching.

Potential candidates interested in running for Crothersville, Medora and Seymour school boards have until noon Aug. 24 if they want to appear on the ballot for the Nov. 6 general election. Brownstown Central’s school board members are appointed by the town council and township officials.

Candidates can file for office at the Jackson County Clerk’s Office at the courthouse, 111 S. Main St., Brownstown.

Four seats are up for election for the Seymour Community School Corp. board of trustees. Those include two of the three Seymour city seats held by Nancy Franke and Stu Silver and two of the four district seats held by Max Klosterman, Washington Township; and John Kelley, Redding Township.

Klosterman and Kelley both said they intend to file for re-election.

Franke, who was first elected to the school board in 2010, said she intends to seek a third four-year term.

“Education issues are at the heart of my desire to serve,” said Franke, who is vice president of the board. “With the vast changes coming from the state level, I believe it is important to continue serving to help our school corporation work through the transitions.”

One of the issues Franke detailed was a tighter budget proposal from the state legislature in 2019.

The board also must weigh options for hiring a new superintendent with the current one, Rob Hooker, recently announcing his plans to retire at the end of 2018.

“I want to see it through to completion,” she said. “Leaving my seat at the end of this term would cause a disruption in the process.”

Silver, who has served on the Seymour board for the last 12½ years, said he does not intend to file for re-election at this time.

“I think it’s time for some other people to get involved,” he said of his decision.

The school board just wrapped up a contentious debate about its liability insurance provider and has discussed school security.

Tiffany Reynolds is the only candidate to file for election to the Crothersville Community School Corp. board of trustees at this time.

The District 2, District 3 and District 5 seats are up for re-election. The District 1 and District 4 seats will be up for re-election in 2020.

Reynolds is running for District 3, a seat held by Ralph Hillenburg, who could not be reached for comment about a decision to run for re-election.

Linda Luedeman represents District 2 and said she intends to run for re-election. Robert Spicer represents District 5 and said he is considering a re-election bid.

Voters in Medora will select school board members to represent District 4 and District 5. Larry Osborn represents District 4, and Darrell Persinger represents District 5, but neither have filed.

[sc:pullout-title pullout-title=”At a glance” ][sc:pullout-text-begin]


County political parties select, appoint candidates to ballot

2018 ballot for local offices


No posts to display