Speedway hosts “Armed Forces Night”


BROWNSTOWN — Ninety-three competitors signed in for competition Saturday night at Brownstown Speedway, as it hosted “Armed Forces Night,” allowing all active military free admission to the night’s event.

Chad Stapleton bested the field of 20 Indiana Pro Late Models and picked up his first feature win of the season at the speedway.

Seymour’s Tyler Cain finished second, with Marty O’Neal, Geraid Gault, and Raymond Humphrey rounding out the top five finishers.

Cain currently sets atop the points standings over O’Neal.

Stapleton’s appearances at Brownstown this season have been limited due to following the schedule of a regional traveling series.

“It’s good to come back and get a win here,” Stapleton said. “You don’t get any better cars than right here at Brownstown. We’ve got a great team. This deal is a lot of hard work and sometimes it’s frustrating but this right here makes it all worth it.”

Devin Gilpin picked up the feature win in the Modified division over Tim Rivers, Jeremy Owens, Matt Boknecht, and Jacoby Hines.

“With the weather conditions, the track was really good,” Gilpin said. “They got dealt a bad card with it raining almost all day, so kudos to them for sticking it out and getting this deal in tonight.”

Gilpin now has two Modified feature wins to his credit this season at Brownstown.

Mike Fields picked up his first win of the season in the Super Stock division.

“Awesome. It’s really all I can say,” Fields said. “I was so shocked that the car was really this good tonight.”

Jason Hehman, Aubrey Eagan, Josh Divine, and Tim Schumpe were among the top five finishers.

Hehman currently leads the points battle for the division over Eagan.

Fields is a two-time Super Stock track champion at Brownstown with titles in 2000 and 2002.

Jeremy Huebner picked up his first career feature win in the Pure Stock division after starting second in the main event.

“It feels great,” Huebner said. “The car handled really good and I don’t know if it was my nerves there towards the end but we started pushing, but we held on for the win.”

Houston Roark, Derek Clegg, Josh Hayes, and William Burton rounded out the top five.

Roark is the current points leader over Clegg.

Josh Gamblin won the feature event in the Hornet division, his first at the speedway.

“We made the two hour and 22-minute trip down here from Kokomo,” Gamblin said. “If it wasn’t such a haul we would be down here every weekend, but if we get rained out at home we will definitely be back.”

Bill Grant, Owen Cosman, Daniel Hobbs, and Andrew Roark crossed the line behind Gamblin.

Brownstown Speedway hosts “Staff Management Night” on May 26, with Super Late Models, Indiana Pro Late Models, Modifieds, Super Stocks, and Pure Stocks on the racing program.

The “Ultimate Battle of the Bluegrass” Super Late Model Series will be in competition on June 2 , paying $3,000 to the race winner. Indiana Pro Late Models, Modifieds, Super Stocks, and MMSA Mini Sprints will all be in competition as well.

No posts to display