Lutheran Women’s Missionary League


Lutheran Women’s Missionary League of Immanuel Lutheran Church met May 3 at Lutheran Community Home in Seymour.

Immanuel president Lois Byrkett welcomed the ladies and led a devotion, “What Shall I Do?” — “As we accept to make decisions in our life, we should pray that we are going the way God is leading us and always seek to do His will before our own.” The ladies joined in reading Ecclesiastes 3:1-8, “For Everything There Is a Season.”

Secretary Janis Mundt read the minutes of the previous meeting conducted in March. Copies of the financial statement were distributed, and both were accepted as presented.

Jan Behrens gave a report on the recent Lutheran Relief project. There was $630 collected for this project to buy piglets for Nepal. Behrens said piglets grow into big pigs fast. With only a small investment, a woman in Nepal can raise piglets into hogs and support her family with the income.

Byrkett reported Immanuel had a good representation at the LWML Spring Workshop at Trinity Lutheran Church in Vallonia. Byrkett also encouraged the ladies to keep collecting pennies and other coins as the “Mile of Pennies for Missions” is still continuing and getting close to reaching the goal of $844.80.

Information about the progress of the Lutheran church in Scottsburg was shared. The congregation has chosen the name Holy Cross Lutheran Church. It had its first worship service in August 2014. It is not yet an official congregation but is supported by the Indiana District and the Lutheran Mission Federation. It recently has submitted by-laws to become official. Official acts are under the authority of Immanuel with Lutheran pastors from Seymour, Brownstown and Sauers conducting services on a rotation basis. Services are Sunday evenings 6 p.m. at the Scottsburg Depot.

Delegates for the Indiana LWML District Convention to be conducted June 24 through 26 at Courtyard by Marriott in Bloomington will be Mundt and Sharon Scott. Behrens and Byrkett will serve as alternates.

New officers for Immanuel that will serve a two-year term are vice president Adrene Wunder, and treasurer Sharon Klakamp.

The closing mite box devotion was led by Wunder and included a prayer for the May 2016 grant recipient, LCMS Global Seminary Initiative — International Student Scholarships, for $100,000. This is the May recipient of part of the 2015-17 LWML Biennium Mission $2 million goal.

Refreshments were served to those attending, including Mundt, Behrens, Hulda Goecker, Karen Habenicht, Bertha Jackson, Lucille Thompson, Frances Anderson, Pauline Bloch, Melba Stuckwisch, Rosalie Grabinski, Mary Schneider, Beulah Clark, Mae Ellen Schneider, Doris Voss, Helen Goecker, Scott, Wunder and Byrkett.

The next meeting will be July 5 at Lutheran Community Home.

No posts to display