Some residents vote nominees for house, senate seats


Tribune Staff Reports

Some Jackson County voters helped elect Democratic and Republican nominees for Indiana Senate District 44, House District 65 and House District 73.

The state Senate District 44 Republican race featured two Bedford men, Josh Anderson and Eric Koch, who is presently the House District 65 representative.

Koch outdistanced Anderson with 5,008 votes, or 76 percent of the total. Anderson wound up with 1,611 votes, or 24 percent in Jackson County.

Democrat Linda Kay Henderson of Bedford ran unopposed for the Senate District 44 seat. She received 1,985 votes in Jackson County.

The Republican race for the District 65 seat featured six candidates. The top vote-getter in Jackson County was Jim Pfaff of Bloomington with 114 votes, followed by Franklin Andrew of Bloomington with 73 votes. The other candidates and their totals were Darren Byrd of Fruitdale with 26 votes, Jacob Franklin of Bloomington with 36, Mark Mathis of Bedford with 51 and Christopher D. May of Bedford with 38.

Democrat Chris Woods, who ran unopposed, grabbed 82 votes.

The Republican House District 73 race featured a battle between incumbent Steven Davisson of Salem and Michael A. Harkness of Paoli. Davisson took Jackson County with 886 votes or 79 percent of the total. Harkness finished with 228 votes.

Democrat Douglas Leatherbury of Salem ran unopposed and notched 355 votes.

No posts to display