5 GOP races set for primary


The May 3 primary will feature races for seven of the 10 countywide offices up for election this year, but none of those races will appear on the Democratic Party ballot.

The filing period ended at noon Friday, and two filings Thursday and a third Friday set up a six-way race for the Republican nominations for the three at-large county council seats. Present at-large Councilman Charlie Murphy and Councilwoman Becky Schepman did not file.

The new filings came from the other incumbent at-large councilman, Joseph “Joe” Bowman of Seymour, Brownstown’s John Nolting, who is presently president of the town council, and Dave Hall from Norman.

The other three GOP candidates are Fred Gill of Seymour, Ann Cain of Seymour and Ralph W. Collins of Medora.

Two Democrats, Steve Ritter of Norman and Kathy Schafstall of Seymour, are seeking that party’s nomination for the three seats.

This past year, county council members made $6,944.10 each.

A third new filing set up a three-way race for the Republican nomination for county coroner. Michael Bobb and Mark D. Holt, both of Seymour, will be joined on the ballot by Shane Collier of Brownstown. Collier had initially filed as a Democrat but withdrew earlier in the week before refiling as a Republican on Friday.

Democrat Andy Rumph of Seymour also is running for the seat in the fall but has no opposition for the primary.

A fifth race on the Republican Party ballot involves the District 1 commissioner seat presently held by Republican Jerry Hounshel. The candidates are David M. Martindale of Brownstown and Drew Markel of Seymour. Hounshel did not file.

The sixth race features three Republicans vying for the District 2 commissioner seat presently held by Republican Tom Joray. The Seymour resident is facing challenges from Bob Gillaspy and Donald M. Schnitker, also both of Seymour. Democrat Bradley D. Smith of Seymour is seeking his party’s nomination for that seat.

The final race on the ballot at this time is for county treasurer, an office presently held by Republican Maria Fisher of Norman. She is facing a challenge from Roger Hurt of Brownstown.

Other Republicans on the primary ballot include Kathy Hohenstreiter of Seymour, who is running for a second term as auditor; Daniel Blann of Brownstown, who is running for a second term as surveyor; and Jackson Superior Court II Judge Bruce MacTavish, who is running for a second six-year term.

MacTavish was appointed to the judgeship when the court first opened for business Jan. 1, 2008. He won his first six-year term two years later.

[sc:pullout-title pullout-title=”At a glance” ][sc:pullout-text-begin]

County Commissioner

District 1


Drew Markel, Seymour

David M. Martindale, Brownstown



District 2


Bob Gillaspy, Seymour

Thomas M. “Tom” Joray, Seymour (I)

Donald M. Schnitker, Seymour


Bradley D. Smith, Seymour

County Council



Joseph “Joe” Bowman, Seymour (I)

Ann Cain, Seymour

Ralph Collins, Medora

Fred Gill, Seymour

Dave Hall, Norman

John Nolting, Brownstown


Steve Ritter, Norman

Kathy Schafstall, Seymour

County Treasurer


Maria Fisher, Norman (I)

Roger Hurt, Brownstown



County Auditor


Kathy Hohenstreiter, Seymour (I)



County Surveyor


Daniel Blann, Brownstown (I)



County Coroner


Michael Bobb, Seymour

Shane Collier, Brownstown

Mark D. Holt, Seymour


Andy Rumph, Seymour

Jackson Superior Court II Judge


Bruce MacTavish, Seymour (I)



State delegates


Melissa Acton, Seymoiur

Jack R. Gillespie, Brownstown

Bryant Lucas, Brownstown

Max Middendorf, Brownstown

Richard “Ric” Temple, Seymour

AmyMarie Travis, Brownstown


Jeanette Hackman, Brownstown

Rose M. Miller, Seymour

Robert Millman, Brownstown

Mark E. Risser, Seymour

Precinct committeemen and committeewomen (Republican only)

Matt Smith, Brownstown 1

Phil Nale, Brownstown 2

C.J. Foster, Brownstown 2

Max Middendorf, Brownstown 4

Beverly Hanner Dewitt, Brownstown East

Bryant Lucas, Brownstown West

Glenn Bane, Carr

Mark Kendall, Crothersville

Amanda L. Lowery, Driftwood

Brian D’Arco, Jackson 2 East

Matt Nicholson, Jackson 3 North

Frank X. Ruane, Jackson 4 South

William “Bill” Marsh, Jackson 4 North

Richard “Ric” Temple, Jackson 5 North

Rick Meyer, Jackson 5 North

Melissa Acton, Jackson 7

Kerri Striegel, Owen

Dave Hall, Owen

Isaac Chadwell Jr., Pershing

Rodney Farrow, Seymour-Redding West

Ed Koerner, Vernon-Crothersville

Roger Teipen, Vernon South

Sarah Benter, Washington


No posts to display