Two file for Seymour school board seats


A couple of key election filing deadlines for the Nov. 5 general election will arrive within the next three weeks.

The nearest one falls at noon June 20 when the filing period ends for anyone interested in running for school board seats up for election this year at corporations in Crothersville, Medora and Seymour. Brownstown Central has an appointed school board.

Seats to be filled on the Seymour Community School board of education during the election are the ones for Hamilton Township, a seat presently held by Ken Browning; Jackson Township, a seat held by Ryan Chandler; and Seymour City, a seat held by Art Juergens.

Chandler and Juergens have both filed petitions of nominations and consent for the general election, according to Robin Pauley with the voter registration office in the Jackson County Judicial Center in Brownstown.

The Crothersville Community School Corp. board of trustee seats up for election are District 1, which is held by Chad Ord, and District 4, presently held by John Riley.

The three Medora Community School Corp. board of trustee’s seats up for election are those presently held by Joe Campbell, Faythe Gill and Tony Hall.

As of Tuesday morning, no one had filed for any of the open seats at Crothersville or Medora. Anyone interested in running for a school board seat be a registered vote and must file a petition of nomination and consent with 10 signatures of registered voters with the Jackson County Clerk’s Office.

At noon July 3 is the deadline for the Democratic Party or Republic Party to fill a vacancy on the general election ballot as the result no candidate being nominated at the primary. The same deadline is in place for the Libertarian Party to conduct a county convention to nominate candidates to fill ballot vacancies and for anyone who wishes to file a declaration of intent to be a write-in candidate at the general election.

As of Tuesday, the Democratic Party had not filled any ballots vacancies, while the Republican Party has no ballot vacancies.

The Republican ballot for county offices include Richard W. Poynter, Jackson Circuit Court judge; Jamie M. Pyle, auditor; Kathy S. Hohenstreiter, treasurer; Paul Foster, coroner; Daniel Blann, surveyor; Drew Markel, commissioner District 1; Drew Storey, commissioner District 2; Amanda Cunningham-Lowery, John L. Nolting and R. Brett Turner, at-large council.

There are several races at the state and national levels this fall. One of the more watched races locally will be the one pitting incumbent House District 69 Rep. Jim Lucas, R-Seymour,l against challenger Trish Whitcomb, a Seymour Democrat.

The deadline for any candidate to withdraw from the general election is noon July 15.

Voter registration opens May 21 and won’t end until Oct. 7.

Voter registration forms may be submitted to the voter registration office each weekday or submitted online on the website

No posts to display