Tampico School reunion


The Tampico School Reunion was held April 12 at W.R. Ewing in Brownstown with many former students and friends enjoying an evening of reminiscing about school days at Tampico.

Jon Robison served as master of ceremonies. He welcomed the group and led the Pledge of Allegiance to the American flag. Duane Melloncamp gave the invocation. The buffet dinner was served by Stahl’s Café Catering.

Following the meal, all former basketball team members and cheerleaders were recognized, and they led the group in singing the Tampico High School song.

All veterans in attendance were honored for their service.

The roll of classmates deceased since the 2023 reunion was read and a moment of silence was observed. These were Norma Jean Lee Neukam, Norbert Gene Wessel, Gene Elmer Robbins, Robert Tatlock, Janie Ault Densford, Wilbert Wessel Jr., Violet Wessel Wischmeier, Kelso Wessel, Janet Smith Lucas Kelsch, Margie Hall Roth, Robert Pope, Marilyn Wischmeier Benter, Leland Nierman and Catherine Shirley Mantz.

Members of the 70-year Class of 1954 (Doris Stahl Frey and Delbert Tormoehlen) and the 60-year Class of 1964 (Betty Christopher Noel, Carolyn Sue Maxie Jones and Charlotte Hall Keith) also were recognized.

A representative of each table introduced the attendees of their table and shared their responses to that table’s roll call question which was a discussion topic centered around Tampico School days. Each table also had a Tampico trivia question which was shared with the assembly. A great time of recalling fond memories was enjoyed through the conversation around these questions and answers.

A door prize drawing for three hanging floral baskets was held at the conclusion of the evening.

Attendees included Doris Stahl Frey, Mindy Frey Backes, Delbert and Alberta Tormoehlen, Bill Wessel, Woodard Bowling, Elberta Wessel Darlage, Velma Tape Nierman, Alice Goecker Hutcheson, Montie and Barbara Prince, Helen Prince, Sharon Melloncamp Baldwin, Eugene and Sue Peters, Richard and Nina Melloncamp Hackman, Ivan Wessel, Carol Whitson Otte, Max and Judy Gambrel, Clarence Stuckwisch, Eugene Bobb, Curtis and Sarah Goecker Benter, Tabitha Hall Ashcraft, Bart and Donna Stuckwisch Maxie, Richard and Carolyn Peters, Ron Wischmeier, Harlann and Betty Peters, Brenda Sturgeon Wright, Betty Christopher Noel, Carolyn Sue Maxie Jones, Willis ‘ Buck’ and Charlotte Hall Keith, Joyce Christopher Lucas, Barbara Prince Silence, Jane Smith Allen, Duane Melloncamp, Wilbur Lee Hoevener, Michael and Audra Wessel Deaton, Gary Bob Allen, Ronald and Opal Wessel Roark, Bill and Marlis Kidd, Judy McKain Scott, Joan Parker Bode, Jon and Peggy Lucas Robison, Julie Hackman Savich, Brad and Cindi Lucas, Janette Elliott, Julie Lucas Zavaro, Paul Zema and Stephanie Lucas and Ron Cunningham.

No posts to display