Thumbs up for Feb. 17


Elite Eight

Thumbs up to the Brownstown Central High School girls basketball squad, who captured the Class 2A Charlestown Regional on Feb. 10 by defeating South Spencer 55-50 in double-overtime. Members of the 18-9 Braves are Kelsey Schneider, Harley Toppe, Kassie Helton, Kassidy Wischmeier, Kinzee Dean, Addison Darlage, Mallory Klosterman, Jada Miller, Sophie Wischmeier, Hailey Hobson, Jenna Klosterman, Hunter Trueblood and Claire Brock. Brownstown, coached by Brandon Allman, faces 20-6 Linton-Stockton at 10 a.m. today in the Shelbyville Semistate.


Thumbs up to Seymour High School senior Elise Hartung, who has been named a National Merit Scholarship Program finalist. By advancing from being a semifinalist, Hartung is part of a group representing less than 1% of U.S. high school graduating seniors. The National Merit Scholarship Program is an annual academic competition among high school students for recognition and college scholarships that began in 1955. The program is conducted by the National Merit Scholarship Corp., a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance.

Braves of the Month

Thumbs up to the Braves of the Month — sophomore Lilly Wayt, seventh-grader Cooper Schroeder and kindergartner Corbin Peters — who were recognized during a Brownstown Central Community School Corp. board of school trustees meeting Tuesday night at the middle school.


Thumbs up to the members of Brownstown Central High School’s Science Olympiad team who won gold medals during the regional competition on Feb. 10 at Ivy Tech Community College in Terre Haute. The gold medalists were Bella Brown and Megan VonDielingen for Disease Detectives, Brown and Braedyn Stidams for Geologic Mapping and Cody Blackburn and Claire Schepman for Robot Tour. The team, coached by Kasey Proehl, finished second.

Warriors win

Thumbs up to the Immanuel Lutheran School seventh grade boys basketball team, which won a tournament Feb. 10 at Brownstown Central Middle School. Members of the team, which ended the season with a 17-4 record, are Reid Darlage, Tyler Bobb, Corbin Adair, Lucas Otte, Westley Marshall, Brady Hageman, Adam Alberring, Eli Williams, Ethan Alcock, Christopher Pumphrey, Zach Lister and Clark Bohall. The Warriors are coached by Kerry Bevers, Toby VanLiew and Dave Emerson.

No posts to display