Everything you need to know about Election Day in Jackson County


Voting begins Tuesday morning in three of Jackson County’s municipalities with contested races.

Here’s all of the information you need to know about where and when to vote and who is running.

Vote centers will be open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. and are at the Medora Christian Church 237 Building, 76 S. George St., Medora; Jackson County Courthouse, 111 S. Main St., Brownstown; Jackson County Public Library, 303 W. Second St., Seymour; Jackson County Learning Center, 323 Dupont Drive, Seymour; and Calvary Baptist Church, 1202 N. Ewing St., Seymour.

Residents of those three municipalities do not have to vote at the center in their town or city but may do so at any of the five vote centers. Crothersville, the county’s fourth municipality, does not have any contested races, eliminating the need for an election.

Five people, including incumbent Republican Drew Storey, are running for two at-large seats on the seven-member Seymour Common Council. The other incumbent, Republican Bret Cunningham, chose not to seek reelection. The remaining four candidates are newcomers: Republican Clint Blish, Democrat Tonya Pacey and independents Steve Deweese and Tyler Henkle.

In the other Seymour contested race, the District 1 council seat is up for grabs with incumbent Republican Matt Wheeler facing a challenge from political newcomer Drew Davis, a Democrat.

Mayor Matt Nicholson and Clerk-Treasurer Darrin Boas, both Republicans, are running unopposed along with the Republicans in the other four district seats on the council. They are Jerry Hackney, District 2; Chad Hubbard, District 3; Seth Davidson, District 4; and Brad Lucas, District 5. All are incumbents with the exception of Lucas, who recently retired as Seymour’s fire chief. President Dave Earley currently represents District 5, but he chose not to seek reelection.

In Brownstown, there is only one race on the ballot and it features two political newcomers. The race for clerk-treasurer became available when the present clerk-treasurer, David Willey, a Democrat, made the decision not to seek a fourth four-year term. The candidates are Democrat Terry Jackson and Republican Sonya Nale.

The five Republican candidates for the Brownstown Town Council seats are running unopposed. They are incumbents Gregory Goshorn (Ward 1), Crystal Stuckwisch (Ward 3) and Tim Robinson (Ward 5) and newcomers Anne P. Carlin (Ward 2) and Brian Reynolds (Ward 4).

In Medora, three at-large seats on the three-member Medora Town Council are open with five candidates vying for the seats.

Republican Rhonda Freeman is the incumbent in the race. The other candidates are Democrat Robert Kent Thompson, independent Ryan Cowles, Republican Jerry Ault and Republican Brad McCammon.

Independent Jerry Henson is running unopposed for clerk-treasurer.

Voters can cast their ballot at any vote center. Make sure to bring a photo identification to the polls.

No posts to display