Brownstown superintendent earns honor from state association


Brownstown Central Community School Corp. Superintendent Tim Taylor has been named 2024 Superintendent of the Year for District VIII by the Indiana Association of Public School Superintendents.

Winners are selected by other superintendents in their district who consider the qualifications and accomplishments of area colleagues and their instructional leadership in a time of scarce resources, according to a news release from the IAPSS.

Taylor has been Brownstown’s superintendent since 2019.

“Although BCCSC is a rural school corporation of approximately 1,500 students, the district’s leaders don’t let its size or geography stand in the way of providing students with a world-class education,” Taylor said.

He said Brownstown students excel in academics, athletics, agriculture and the arts.

“Our accomplishments toward a rich and meaningful educational experience for our students include a cooperative effort with the Boys & Girls Club to provide free after-school and summer opportunities for our elementary and middle school students,” Taylor said.

“We have expanded offerings for high school students in the areas of welding, construction trades and transportation,” he said. “Students also have the opportunity to obtain drone and CDL certification. We have enhanced science, technology, engineering and mathematics education through professional development, a makerspace classroom and hiring a STEM specialist.”

Three years ago, Taylor said the corporation transitioned from a special education cooperative to give it more control in expending funds and allow for more localized direction in students’ educational experience.

“We continue to make strides in inclusion instruction and life skills curriculum,” he said.

The district also has been innovative in its approach to school finance to maximize opportunities for students and grow programming without raising the tax rate, Taylor said.

District VIII includes Bartholomew, Brown, Dearborn, Decatur, Clark, Floyd, Franklin, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Ohio, Ripley, Scott, Switzerland and Washington counties.

No posts to display