Vote centers set to open at 6 a.m. today


Election Day has arrived, and voters can head to the three vote centers in Seymour at 6 a.m. today.

The ballot features just two contested Republican races. The first involves incumbent Seymour Mayor Matt Nicholson and political newcomer Dan Robison, while the second pits incumbent District 3 Seymour City Councilman Chad Hubbard against Marcus Sewell.

The vote centers are located at Calvary Baptist Church, 1202 N. Ewing St.; the Jackson County Learning Center, 323 Dupont Drive; and the Jackson County Public Library, 303 W. Second St.

Andrea Edwards, the county’s voter registration clerk, said on Monday morning that 389 registered voters had cast votes at the early vote center, which opened April 18 at the library. She said she also had sent out 20 ballots by mail and had received 15 as of Monday. The deadline to return those ballots is 6 p.m. today, which is when the vote centers close.

There are 11,148 registered voters in the city, which is the only one of the four municipalities in the county to have a primary election this year.

Republican candidates running unopposed in the Seymour primary are Darrin Boas, clerk-treasurer; Matthew Wheeler, council District 1; Jerry Hackney, council District 2; Seth Davidson, council District 4; Brad Lucas, council District 5; and Drew Storey and Clint Blish for the two council at-large seats. Boas, Wheeler, Hackney, Davidson and Storey are incumbents.

Democrats on the ballot are Andrew “Drew” Davis, council District 1, and Tonya Pacey for one of the two at-large council seats. The Republican and Democratic parties have until June 30 to fill ballot vacancies.

Registered voters in Brownstown, Crothersville and Medora will select council members and clerk-treasurers during the Nov. 7 general election. Candidates for council seats and clerk-treasurer in the towns have until Aug. 1 to file declarations of candidacy.

No posts to display