Brownstown’s May named to Indiana Football Hall of Fame

Brownstown Central High School football head coach Reed May has been named to the 2023 Indiana Football Hall of Fame.

On March 11, the past presidents of the Indiana Football Coaches Association elected 52 new members into the Indiana Football Hall of Fame. Coaches elected in addition to May were Tony Ahrens, Rick Carrico, Roger Dodson, Dale Doerffler, Dean Doerffler, John Elliott, Darrin Fisher, Mike Goebel, Ott Hurrle, Ted Karras Jr., Jim Kiechle, Darin Knight, Paul Loggan, John Mallery, Chris Meeks, Tim Shipp and Joe Siderewicz.

Players elected in were Jason Baker, Robert Boltinghouse, Drew Brees, Marcus Carpenter, John “Deke” Cooper, Vaughn Dunbar, A.J. Eads, Trai Essex, Jason Fabini, William Henry Givins III, Kevin Hardy, Ryan Kerrigan, Brett Law, Tom McConnell, William Melby, Randy Minniear, Dwayne O’Conner, Bernard Pollard, Clayton Richard, Billy Seymour, Anthony Spencer, Taylor Stubblefield and Tom Yohee.

Contributors elected in were Bill Bilinski, Todd Clark, Tom Kubat, Fred Mitchell and Joe Schoen. Pioneers elected in were Joe Boland, Johnny Bright, Max G. “Bup” Gill, Tom Hodge, Ross Perri and John Scheumann.

May is a Bloomington South (1974) and University of Arizona (1982) graduate. He has been the head coach at Brownstown Central since 1993 and has a current career record of 291-62 (82%wins), and his teams have 12 undefeated seasons, 20 conference championships, 13 IHSAA sectional championships and three regional championships.

He has served the IFCA as the 2013 president, member of the rating board for 23 years, region director and currently serves as the Region 10 adviser for the board of directors.

Formal induction details will be announced at a later date by the Brownstown Central athletic department and QB Club.