Immanuel 1, White N tie for third as Sauers E, Wegan W remain atop dartball standings

League-leading Sauers E got back on track after losing two games last week.

On Monday, they swept Redeemer N to improve their record to 37-5.

Wegan W remains in second place with a 33-9 record after sweeping Immanuel Darty. Wegan had the hot hands scoring 31 runs, marking their third week in a row over 30 runs.

In a battle for third place, White Creek N took two games from Immanuel 1. They are tied with identical records of 30-12.

Brownstown 4 could only manage to score two runs in being swept by Redeemer S. In game two, Brownstown held a 2-1 lead going into the ninth inning. Redeemer scored the tying run in the ninth and scored once in the 10th to win 3-2.

Borchers won its first two games against Hayden. In the third game, Borchers had a 3-0 lead going into the bottom of the ninth inning. That’s when Clayton Capes of Hayden hit a three-run home run to tie the game, and he also got the walk-off single in the bottom of the 11th inning for the win.

Dartball history: By 1956, the league had grown to 20 teams. At the kickoff meeting on Aug. 13, 1956, there was some discussion among the captains concerning dividing the league into two divisions. A motion to split the league failed to pass. It is documented in the minutes that every year, the same discussion was presented, and every year, the motion would fail to pass — that is until 1964.

That year, the president, Henry Bobb, scheduled the kickoff meeting at the Zion Lutheran Church parish hall. For the ninth year in a row, the idea was presented. After much discussion, the captains passed a motion to split the teams into the American League and the National League. Teams were drawn at random to determine which division they were in. A full schedule was played with the winners of the two divisions having a best two of three games playoff at the end of the season to determine the league champion.

The two division format was used for four years. On Aug. 26, 1968, the captains voted to return to the one-league format that is being used today.

Week 14 results from the Lutheran Dartball League.