New filings put in place second race

A second race has been set up for the May 2 Seymour primary election thanks to recent filings at the Jackson County Judicial Center in Brownstown.

Incumbent District 3 Councilman Chad Hubbard, a Republican, is facing a challenge from Marcus Sewell. Hubbard is seeking a second four-year term.

Sewell ran as an independent for the council District 3 seat in the general election in 2018 but lost to Hubbard.

Hubbard said Sewell asked him if he would be mad about him getting into the primary race this year.

“I said no,” Hubbard said. “I told him the more, the merrier.”

Sewell said he really believes he can make a difference if elected.

“I can do a lot on the neighborhood level with sidewalks, potholes and things like that,” he said. “I plan to have an open door where people can feel comfortable coming and talking to me about their concerns.”

Sewell said he feels good about running this time because his mother, Linda Black, is his campaign manager.

“She’s doesn’t get too political about things, so it’s a good sign when she’s backing me,” he said.

Hubbard said he believes the present council has done a good job.

“I believe we’re on the right path,” he said. “I want to continue that work. There’s more I want to accomplish for District 3 that I have not yet been able to.”

One of those is the revitalization of Westside Park.

“I’m glad we can bring it back to life,” Hubbard said. “We have a lot of kids in that part of town. They just don’t have a place to go.”

He said a nice park might help deter those kids from going down the wrong path.

“There’s more to be done in District 3,” Hubbard said.

The other new primary filing involves incumbent Republican District 2 Councilman Jerry Hackney, who also is seeking a second four-year term.

The deadline for filing for city primary is noon Feb. 3.

The other race on the ballot at this time features incumbent Mayor Matt Nicholson, a Republican, who is facing a challenge from political newcomer Dan Robison.

Other Republicans seeking reelection to four-year terms are Clerk-Treasurer Darrin Boas, District 1 Councilman Matthew Wheeler, District 4 Councilman Seth Davidson and At-Large Councilman Drew Storey.

Seymour Fire Chief Brad Lucas, who plans to retire at the end of the year, also has filed a declaration of candidacy for the council District 5 seat. That move came after Dave Earley, an independent, announced his decision to not pursue a fourth term.

Brownstown Republican Sonya Nale also recently filed a declaration of candidacy for clerk-treasurer to replace Democrat David Willey, who has said he does not plan to run again.

Political newcomer Brad McCammon, a Republican, also recently filed his declaration of candidacy for one of Medora Town Council’s three seats.

Candidates for council seats and clerk-treasurer in Brownstown, Crothersville and Medora have until Aug. 1 to file declarations of candidacy.

The Democratic and Republican parties will then hold conventions in August if there is more than one candidate for a seat.