May appointed chair of House local government committee


Indiana House District 65 Rep. Chris May, R-Bedford, was appointed Friday to serve as chair of the House local government committee.

“Having served 10 years as a Lawrence County commissioner as well as on boards at the municipal and local levels, I look forward to utilizing my experience to lead this committee,” May said.

House standing committee appointments are made by the Indiana House speaker biennially after the November election and are in effect for the duration of members’ two-year terms.

“I’m excited about the talents and wide range of experience that our chairs will bring to their committees, and I look forward to working closely with each of them,” said House Speaker Todd Huston, R-Fishers.

House lawmakers are scheduled to convene at 1:30 p.m. Jan. 9 for the first day of the 2023 legislative session. Hoosiers can visit to find legislation, view calendars and watch committee meetings and sessions.

May encourages constituents to visit to sign up to receive e-newsletter updates about what’s happening at the Statehouse throughout the legislative session and beyond.

District 65 includes all of Lawrence County, Carr Township in Jackson County and portions of Orange and Washington counties.

No posts to display