Brownstown Speedway set for Jackson 100 tonight


The stars of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will converge at the Brownstown Speedway tonight for the 43rd running of the historic Jackson 100.

Tonight will be a complete show of Dirt Draft Hot Laps, Allstar Performance Time Trials, Heat Races and B-Mains on tap, followed by a 100-lap, $20,000-to-win finale for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.

In 2021, Jimmy Owens claimed a thrilling Jackson 100 victory. The veteran driver swapped the lead with Devin Moran multiple times in the closing laps before taking the checkered flag just .079 seconds ahead. Moran finished second, with Tanner English, Earl Pearson Jr. and Mike Marlar rounding out the top five.

Additional bonuses of over $3,000 have been posted, making the event even more lucrative for competitors.

Brownstown Speedway is accustomed to thrilling, edge of your seat racing action. This weekend, drivers will be awarded for their hard charging efforts. The Hard Charger Award presented by Dion Deason Racing will pay $1,000 in tonight’s 43rd Annual Jackson 100.

The driver who tops the speed charts in Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Time Trials tonight will receive $1,995 — in honor of C.J. Rayburn’s 1995 Brownstown Speedway track championship. The award was made possible by the generous donations from Dion Deason, Jason Grimes Construction, Crystal Kenneda, Kevin Greene, Bobby Wolter Sr., Slicker Graphics and Wildfire Motors.

Additionally, tonight’s late model heat race winners will be awarded $150 each courtesy of Chris and Amanda Wiese from Freedom Fireworks.

Other awards will be announced tonight are sponsored by Dustin Roller and Ryan Bowling of Race Clean, Tony Ogle of Hillbilly’s BBQ, Burgers and Tenderloins, Brad Arthur, Kevin Borgman Farms, Celery Signs and Delph Communications.

Gates will open at noon today, with on-track action set to begin at 6 p.m. A Dirt Racing Outreach Service is scheduled for today at 2 p.m. in the Pavilion. The Modifieds and Super Stocks are also on the card for tonight

Tim McCreadie continues to lead the Lucas Oil National Championship standings. However, after a DNF in last week’s Lucas Oil Knoxville Late Model Nationals, Brandon Sheppard has closed to within 100- points of the top spot. Ricky Thornton Jr. is third, followed by Hudson O’Neal and Earl Pearson Jr. Garrett Alberson tops the O’Reilly Auto Parts Rookie of the Year chase. Complete Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series standings are available at

For more information on today’s Jackson 100 festivities, head to

Brownstown results

It was Schaefer Photo Custom Designs Meet and Greet Night on Sept. 17 at Brownstown Speedway. There were 135 cars were on hand to race.

Tyler Neal lea all 25 laps to pick up the Graphix Indiana Late Model Series Pro Late Model feature win. Neal’s fourth ILMS win this year would be in front of Chad Stapleton, Tyler Collins, Zack Burton and Alan Magner.

Make it three in-a-row for Tucker Chastain in Pewter Hall Super Stock feature wins. Chastain came from his seventh starting spot to record his sixth win of 2022. Trey Chastain, Greg Amick, Zach Sasser and Isaiah Sasser completed the top five.

Keaton Streeval got his third win of the year in All in 1 Pools Pure Stock feature action. Streeval took the checkers ahead of Dusten Carr, Daniel Hupp, J.T. Huffman and Donnie Wilson.

Jacob Owens and Michael Brewer had a good battle in the Cain’s Tree Service Hornet feature. Owens got his fifth win this season ahead of Michael Brewer, Davey Waggoner, Keaton Durbin and Kaleb Caudill.

Brandon Cranmer recorded his third straight win and fourth overall this year in Flag 2 Flag Crown Vics. Anthony Finley, Michael Cranmer, Jeff Cranmer and Jesse Suell rounded out the top five.

Indiana Pro Late Model Feature Results: Tyler Neal, Chad Stapleton, Tyler Collins, Zack Burton, Alan Magner, Britan Godsey, Marty O’Neal, Tyler Cain, Tory Collins, Shelby Miles, Jesse Tunny, Keegan Cox, Justin Bowling, Willie Madison, Elliott Despain, Michael Wesselman, Bob Poole, Zac Gibbs, Jug Wethington, Rick Gumm.

Super Stock Feature Results: Tucker Chastain, Trey Chastain, Greg Amick, Zach Sasser, Isaiah Sasser, Troy Knorr, Austin Perry, Broc Burton, Gary Rahe Jr., Grant Simpson, Blake Hull, Colton Sullivan, Dalton Fleenor, Brent McMillan, Jack Roberts, Forest Bennett, Branden Carr, Matt Boknecht, Roger Reichenbacker, Danny Hupp-DNS.

Pure Stock Feature Results: Keaton Streeval, Dusten Carr, Daniel Hupp, Jt Huffman, Donnie Wilson, D.J. Dunn, Josh Johnson, Preston Carr, Kevin Streeval, Mickey Hines, Josh Hayes, Eric Lynn, Eric Lewis, Tyler Fraze, Dalton Roark, Tommy Fleenor, A.J. Warren, Robert White, Josh Turner, William Burton-DNS, Terry Turner-DNS.

Hornet Feature Results: Jacob Owens, Michael Brewer, Davey Waggoner, Keaton Durbin, Kaleb Caudill, Brian Pollitt, Jeremy Shemwell, Matt Miller, Shannon Walp, Gabe Caudill, Scott Smith, John Smith, Brandon Crockett, Don Boling Jr., Kenneth Eaton, Austin Clark, Jake Ogle, Landon Hayes, Zach Johnson, Warren Lucas.

Crown Vic Feature Results: Brandon Cranmer, Anthony Finley, Michael Cranmer, Jeff Cranmer, Jesse Suell, Billy Heil, Kevin Rich, Brandon Hooker, JT Huffman, Holly Heil, Chad Reed, Joel Smith, Stacie Fitzgerald, Kilie Reynolds, Ryan Woods, Brayden Reed, Blake Daniels, Jeff Roberts, Chris Hawn, Darrell Basham-DNS.

This week in racing history

From 70 years ago in 1952 at Brownstown Speedway, Bob Garrison won the feature race over Norval Welch, Wayne Ford, Red Carmichael and Harry King.

Also from 1952 at the 25th Street Fairgrounds Raceway in Columbus, Ed Yeager won the midget feature over Rick Kerr and Bud Bogard.

From 70 years ago at the Columbus Speedway, Crowbar Taylor won the feature over Bud Greathouse, Red Carmichael, Jim Quillen and Wayne Ford.

From 50 years ago in 1972 at Twin Cities, Hillbilly Ogle won the feature race over Leo Boner, Bill Cummings, Gary Herbert and Rick Kramer.

Also from 1972, the Columbus Kart Club winners were Dick Phillips, Troy Smith, Nelson Freeman, Ray Floyd, Bob McClure and Frank Hoban.

From 40 years ago in 1982, the Columbus Kart Club winners were Taulby Donnell, John Linville, Terry Shirley, Scott Eggman, Cindy Smith, Bob McClure and John Stults.

James Essex writes a motorsports notebook for The Tribune. Send comments to [email protected]

No posts to display