Paul Crockett Memorial to conclude Jackson County Fair tonight


It will be a busy night at the Jackson County Fairgrounds in Brownstown with nine feature races contested. On Thursday night, the Don Gardner Memorial for the Indiana Pro Late Model Series

was stopped with 10 laps in the books when rain hit the track, forcing the rest of the race to be run tonight.

Along with the pro late model feature, the feature races for the super stocks, modifieds and hornets that were rained out on Thursday will be ran first tonight. Also, the Paul Crockett Memorial for the super late models, along with added money for the super stocks, pure stocks, modifieds and hornets will be for grabs tonight, as well.

Gates will open at 2 p.m., with the draw closing at 4:45 p.m. Hot laps will then follow at 5: 30 p.m. For

up-to-date information, please visit

Tony Stewart Speedway results

Columbus Speedway Go-Kart Racing, which conducts events at the Tony Stewart Speedway located on the grounds of the Bartholomew County 4-H Fairgrounds, held races on July 23. The division winners were Connor Perry (rookie and junior 1), Jacob Chadd (junior 2), Ricky Bernard (junior 3), Keith Miller (medium), Lane Miller (heavy), R.T. Lowe (super heavy), Troy Johnson (rwyb), and Andy Tragesser (mod lites).

The next scheduled race is set for Aug. 6.

Adams wins at Rock Crest

Jerry Adams of Elizabethtown won the W.E. Burton Memorial for pure stocks on July 223 at the Rock Crest Raceway in Vernon. Other winners were Britan Godsey (pro late models), Jacoby Hines

(modifieds), Greg Amick (super stocks), and Jacob Owens (hornets).

This week, it has been announced the track is closed for the remainder of the season.

O’Neal wins in Iowa again

Martinsville native Hudson O’Neal, who now resides in Hope, won the MARS late model feature on July 26 at Davenport Speedway in Davenport, Iowa. O’Neal led all 50 laps for his third win in three appearances at the track. Earlier this month, he won a Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event at the track. Bobby Pierce was second, followed by Devin Moran, Max Blair and Mike Marlar.

Sprint week winds down

The 2022 USAC Indiana Sprint Week will conclude tonight at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt. The week kicked off on July 22 with Shane Cottle winning at I-69 Gas City Speedway. Sunday’s race at Lawrenceburg Speedway was rained out and will not be rescheduled. C.J. Leary won on Monday at Circle City Raceway in Indianapolis, and Justin Grant won the re-scheduled event at Kokomo Speedway on Tuesday.

The scheduled race at the Terre Haute Action Track was rained out on Wednesday and will not be rescheduled. On Thursday night, it was Mitchel Moles scoring his first win at Lincoln Park Speedway in Putnamville.

This week in racing history

From 70 years ago in 1952 at the Columbus Speedway, Russell Grubbs won the feature race over Bud Greathouse and Wayne Ford.

From 60 years ago at the Bartholomew County 4-H Fairgrounds, the 1962 fair closed with Jim Gettelfinger winning the three-quarter midget feature race.

From 50 years ago in 1972 at Brownstown, Jim Curry won the late model feature over Ira Bastin, Bob Fleetwood, Dick Brinegar and Russ Petro.

Also from 1972 at Twin Cities, Johnny Robbins won the feature race over Larry Exner, Leo Boner, Mike Stewart and Cecil McQueary.

From 50 years ago at Haubstadt, Sheldon Kinser won the sprint car feature, and Ira Bastin won the late model feature.

From 1972 at Paragon, Bob Kinser won the sprint car feature over Rex Mitchell, Butch Wilkerson, Sheldon Kinser and Allen Barr. Steve Bowlen won the stock car feature over Slim Simpson, Bob Ham, Rodney Harris and Floyd Phillips.

From 50 years ago at Whitewater Valley Speedway in Liberty, Floyd Gilbert won the V-8 late model feature, and Bob Smith took the super-six feature.

From 40 years ago in 1982 at Brownstown, Roger Absher won the late model feature over Don Hobbs, Ray Godsey, Kenny Simpson and Noel Witcher. Mark Elzey took the street stock feature over Chuck Winders, Darrell Hunter, Rodney Gaines and Rodney Harris.

Also from 1982, Kerry Norris swept the weekend in sprint car racing, winning the feature races at both Bloomington and Lawrenceburg.

From 30 years ago in 1992 at Haubstadt, Sammy Swindell won the World of Outlaws Sprint Car feature over Danny Lasoski and Steve Kinser. Kevin Claycomb took the late model feature over Roger Long and Rick Carneal.

Also from 1992 at Bloomington, Gary Fisher won the sprint car feature over Joe Roush, Larry Bland and Kevin Thomas. Scott Patman won the street stock feature.

From 20 years ago in 2002 at Twin Cities, J.J. Yeley won the Dick Gaines Classic for USAC sprints over Eric Shively, Jon Stanbrough, Levi Jones and Jonathan Vennard.

Also from 2002 at Lawrenceburg, Troy Link won the sprint car feature over Derek Scheffel, Matt Westfall, Ryan Howard and Brad Marvel. Joey Kramer took the modified feature over John DeMoss, Kerry Norris, David McWilliams and Bill Wagner.

In 2002 at Brownstown, Jason Setser won the late model feature over Dan Sturgeon, Mark Barber, Adam Sasser and C.J. Rayburn. Mike Fields won the super stock feature over Keith Deppe, Randy Moore, Chris Deweese and Brad Cummings. Bubba Woods took the bomber feature race over Darrell Burton, Matt Cummings, Robert Walters and Jason Combs.

No posts to display