Local members attend Delta Theta Tau national convention


The 114th national convention of Delta Theta Tau Sorority Inc. was July 6 to 10.

Rise Buzzard, past national president with Alpha Delta chapter of Huntington, served as convention coordinator for The Roaring ’20s – Delta Style-themed convention at Hilton Chicago/Oak Brook Hills Resort.

National President Terry Riester of Lambda Nu chapter of Mooresville presided at the business meetings during the convention. She chose as her focus for her year at the helm of the organization “Delts ROCK! The Lemonade Tour.”

Social activities enjoyed by members included the Speakeasy Mixer, Come to the Cabaret Informal and Great Gatsby Gala Banquet.

Delegates from 58 chapters were represented. Attending from Theta Zeta chapter of Seymour were Rebecca Sims, Lisa Zike, Lori Bentley and Cindy Winslow.

A combined total from all chapters donated to philanthropic projects during the past year amounted to $346,664.40. The members supported their communities with a total of 83,269.25 volunteer hours during the past year.

Awards were given to chapters with the highest total amount of money spent on philanthropy and also for the chapters with the most volunteer hours. Receiving the award for the highest amount of money spent for philanthropy was Zeta Upsilon chapter of Seneca, Illinois. Receiving the award for most hours spent for philanthropy was Alpha chapter of Muncie.

Of philanthropic interest to members is the National Foundation for Ectodermal Dysplasias and encouraging professionals in the area of counseling. Delta Theta Tau’s educational grant program enables students to continue their studies in the graduate field of counseling.

The philanthropy committee granted $10,000 to National Foundation for Ectodermal Dysplasias. The 2021 delegation allotted $5,000 for educational grants to be used in the year of 2022-23.

Delegates elected Julie Callis of Lambda Theta chapter of Martinsville to serve as 2022-23 national president.

Delta Theta Tau, a national philanthropic sorority, was founded in 1903 in Muncie by five high school girls. The first national convention was held in 1908 in Elwood.

The 115th national convention will be July 12 to 16, 2023, at Fort Worth Sheraton in Fort Worth, Texas. Cathy Stanford, past national president with Omicron Alpha of Woodlawn, Illinois, will be the 2023 convention coordinator.

For information about Delta Theta Tau sorority, visit deltathetatau.org.

No posts to display