O’Neal keeps rolling in Missouri


Martinsville native Hudson O’Neal, who now resides in Hope, inherited the lead when race leader Brandon Sheppard suffered mechanical issues heading to the white flag on July 14 at I-70 Speedway in Odessa, Missouri. Sheppard brought out the last caution of the race as he slowed on the main straightaway, which would set up a green-white-checkered finish in the inaugural visit to the Missouri track by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, which co-sanctioned the event with the Lucas Oil MLRA Series.

O’Neal then led the last two laps for the win. Jimmy Owens got around current LOLMDS points leader Tim McCreadie on the final restart to finish in the runner-up position. McCreadie came home in third, followed by Kyle Strickler and Rickly Thornton Jr.

Owens jumped to lead around Sheppard on the opening lap in a race that was shortened to 30 laps from its originally scheduled 40 laps due to high engine temperatures and air temperatures which reached over 100 degrees during the day.

Owens led the first 11 circuits before Sheppard assumed command, but a fateful Lap 28 ended his hopes for his seventh series win of the season.

“I don’t really know what happened yet,” Owens said. “We haven’t assessed the damages. We know the motor let go we just don’t know why. We were all running really hot out there. As hard as we were running it’s definitely disheartening. We had a really fast race car all night long and for it to end like that is disappointing for sure.”

In Lucas Oil Victory Lane for the second time in eight days and for the 15th time in his career the 21-year-old Indiana native felt bad for Sheppard who held a three-car length lead over O’Neal as the two headed to the white flag.

“You just hate to win one like that,” O’Neal said. “I think, we were going to run first and second there. I think, they had that one in the bag. I would rather be lucky than good any day. We had a strong night all night long we qualified good, heat raced good had a really good piece there in the feature. I am just so proud of my guys, and I am glad everyone is here this weekend.”

Columbus go-kart results

Columbus Speedway Go-Kart Racing, which conducts events at the Tony Stewart Speedway located at the Bartholomew County 4-H Fairgrounds, held a special event during the county fair on June 30. The division winners were Andy Tragesser (mod lites), Blake Robertson (junior 3), Jared John (heavy), Kamden Fields (rookies), Jake Roell (junior 2), Ron Stillabower (pred), Josh Rigdon (super heavy), Zach Roell (junior 1), Jacob Chadd (pro purple), and Juan Grino (rwyb).

The next go-kart event at Tony Stewart Speedway will be tonight.

Paragon race results

Paragon Speedway held a fur division night of racing on July 9. The division winners were Cody Trammell (410 sprints), Derek Groomer (modifieds), Tyler Neal (crate late models), and Chris Hillman Jr. (hornets).

Tonight, Paragon will host the Chuck Amati Classic. For further info, visit paragonspeedway.com.

Brownstown racing tonight

After being rained out July 9, Brownstown Speedway will be in action tonight with a full racing program of pro late models, modifieds, super stocks, pure stocks, and hornets. It will be special event for the pro late models with the Carey Ruwe Memorial, paying $3,500 to win. For more information, visit brownstownspeedway.com.

Lawrenceburg off tonight

Lawrenceburg Speedway will be idle tonight. The next scheduled race is set for July 24 with the USAC Indiana Sprint Week show, plus modifieds. For more information, visit lawrenceburgspeedway.com

Rock Crest next race

Rock Crest Raceway, formerly known as Twin Cities Raceway Park, in Vernon will hold its next event on July 23. On the program will be the W.E. Burton Memorial for pure stocks. Also racing will be the pro late models super stocks and hornets.

This week in racing history

From 70 years ago in 1952 at Columbus Speedway, Bobby Baker won the feature race.

From 60 years ago in 1962, the Columbus Kart Club division winners were Ron Hoover, Mike Devening, Jim Devening, Bob Baker and Steve Dorsett.

From 40 years ago in 1982 at Brownstown, Don Hobbs won the All-Star Circuit of Champions Late Model feature over Ira Bastin, Ray Godsey, Jim Dunn and Bubby James. John Mull won the street stock feature over Danny Blackwell, Dave Barnett, Darrell Hunter and Rodney Harris.

This weekend in 1982 at Twin Cities, Steve Boley won the late model feature over Lee Fleetwood, Roger Sullivan, Bud Seymour, and Chuck Gilpin. Scott McKeand won the street stock feature over R.C. Calton, Bill Franks, Phil Fultz and Merrill Downey.

From 30 years ago in 1992 at Brownstown, Kevin Weaver won the late model feature over Bob Pohlman Jr., Lee Fleetwood, Mike Jewell and Kevin Claycomb. Kelly Kinser won the sprint car feature over Larry Bland, Troy Shields, Jeff Walker and Kevin Briscoe. Mark Barber took the street stock main event over Scott Patman, Tim Clark, Randy Petro, and Darren Davis. Darin George won the bomber feature over Kevin Sebastian, Bobby Davis, Roger Vanosdol and Ray Hughes.

From 20 years ago in 2002, Danny Lasoski won the World of Outlaws Sprint Car feature at Terre Haute over Donny Schatz, Brad Furr, Stevie Smith and Joey Saldana.

Also from 20 years ago at Bloomington, Derek Scheffel won the sprint car feature over Bill Rose, Brian Hayden, Eric Roberts, and Kevin Briscoe. Clint DeMoss took the modified feature over Matt Boknecht, John DeMoss, Mike Bowersox, and Ryan Thomas. Lee Hobbs took the super stock feature over Zach Carney, Ralph Groomer, Chris Hillman and Greg Kendall.

From 2002 at Brownstown, Steve Barnett won the Lee Fleetwood Memorial Race for late models over Greg Johnson, Steve Casebolt, John Gill and Dan Sturgeon. Jay Deckard won the super stock feature over Mike Fields, Todd Gilpin, Keith Deppe and Matt Boknecht. Jim Ruddick took the bomber feature over Larry Harris, Robert Walters, Clifton Barron and Matt Cummings.

No posts to display