O’Neal gets first Lucas Oil Series win of the year in Iowa


Martinsville native Hudson O’Neal, who now resides in Hope, won a thrilling Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series feature on Wednesday at Davenport Speedway in Iowa. O’Neal survived a three-car battle between himself, Brandon Overton and Mike Marlar to pick up his first series win of 2022.

O’Neal, who won in his first-ever visit to the track last Jul,y becomes the 16th different winner this year with the series. Jimmy Owens was fourth, and Spencer Hughes rounded out the top five. Hughes drives for the PCC Motorsports team owned by Craig and Shannon Sims of Hope.

Tonight, the series will conclude its upper Midwest trek this week at Deer Creek Speedway in Sprint Valley, Minnesota, with a $50,000-to-win main event shown live at 10 p.m. eastern on the MAVTV Motorsports Network (channel 214 on DirectTV).

Peeden wins at Brownstown

The Graphix Indiana Late Model Series Pro Late Models were in action with the U.S. Air Force 30 on July 2 at Brownstown Speedway. Steve Peeden jumped to the early lead, but lost the top spot to Tyler Cain with 20 laps to go. With 10 laps remaining, Peeden worked his way back around Cain to retake the lead. Peeden led the rest of the way to the checkers.

Peeden’s fourth ILMS win of 2022 was ahead of Tyler Neal, Raymond Humphrey, Tyler Collins and Britan Godsey. Sixth-through-10th were Zack Burton, Joey Kramer, Alan Magner, Justin Bowling and Rick Gumm.

Tucker Chastain led flag-to-flag to record his second Pewter Hall Super Stock feature win of the year. Zach Sasser, Isaiah Sasser, Bryson Clark,and Matt Boknecht trailed Chastain at the finish.

Josh Hayes in All in 1 Pools Pure Stocks led every lap of his feature to pick up his first win of 2022. Hayes led Paul Ortman, Dusten Carr, Tommy Fleenor and Robert White at the checkers.

In Cain’s Tree Service Hornet feature action, Jacob Owens recorded win No. 2 for the year. Michael Brewer, Kaleb Caudill, Conner Garrison and Shannon Walp trailed Owens at the finish.

Phillip Boudreaux got his first win of the year in Flag 2 Flag Media Crown Vic feature action. Joel Smith, Brandon Cranmer, Billy Heil and Michael Cranmer completeed the top five.

Indiana Pro Late Model Feature Results: Steve Peeden, Tyler Neal, Raymond Humphrey, Tyler Collins, Britan Godsey, Zack Burton, Joey Kramer, Alan Magner, Justin Bowling, Rick Gumm, Caleb Schryer, Patrick Shumaker, Derrick Huber, Tyler Cain, Marty O'Neal, Jug Wethington, Zac Gibbs, Bob Poole, Jake Humphrey, Keaton Streeval.

Super Stock Feature Results: Tucker Chastain, Zach Sasser, Isaiah Sasser, Bryson Clark, Matt Boknecht, Tanner Chastain, Austin Perry, Cale Kern, Dalton Fleenor, Brad Cummings, Troy Knorr, Greg Amick, Glynn Neal, Josh Litton, Trent Adams, Grant Simpson, Jack Roberts, Mark Hines, Danny Hupp, Webb Lee-DNS.

Pure Stock Feature Results: Josh Hayes, Paul Ortman, Dusten Carr, Tommy Fleenor, Robert White, D.J. Dunn, Bobby Woods, Kevin Streeval, Eric Lewis, Daniel Hupp, Josh Johnson, Preston Carr, Eric Lynn, Keaton Streeval, Donnie Wilson, Kevin Bloom-DNS.

Hornet Feature Results: Jacob Owens, Michael Brewer, Kaleb Caudill, Conner Garrison, Shannon Walp, Zach Johnson, Scott Smith, Jeremy Shemwell, Brian Pollitt, Davey Waggoner, Dale Hobbs, Phillip Fields, Kameron Arthur, Matt Miller, Josh Arthur, Brian Mitchell, Landon Hayes, Korey Estes, Jamie Ogle, Jeff Howe, Skylar Ashley, Kenneth Eaton-DNS.

Crown Vic Feature Results: Phillip Boudreaux, Joel Smith, Brandon Cranmer, Billy Heil, Michael Cranmer, Anthony Finley, Trevor Cranmer, Eric Lewis, Holly Heil, Kevin Rich, Ryan Woods, Jon Ortman, Stacie Fitzgerald, Blake Daniels, Brayden Reed, Ray Weston, Kenrick Neal, Kilie Reynolds, Dakota Myers, Adam Grimsley-DNS.

Tonight, Brownstown will host the Born Free 40 for super late models, paying $5,000 to win. Also competing will be modifieds, super stocks, pure stocks, and crown vics. For further info, visit brownstownspeedway.com.

Hoffman, Hensley win at Lawrenceburg

Nick Hoffman continued his winning ways this season on July 2 at Lawrenceburg Speedway. The North Carolina resident won the Merrill Downey Memorial for open wheel modifieds.

Hoffman pocketed over $7,000 in prize and lap money. Adam Stricker was second, followed by Tyler Nicley, Josh Harris and Matt Hamilton.

Robby Hensley won the late model feature race over Trevor Landrum, Tristan Chamberlain, Derek Fisher and Jerry Bowersock.

Tonight, Lawrenceburg will host a regular program of sprints, modifieds, pure stocks, and hornets. For further info, visit lawrenceburgspeedway.com.

This week in racing history

From 60 years ago in 1962, Columbus Kart Club winners were John Arrington, Lee Nichols, Lee VanEst, Gerald Reeves and Don Morris.

From 50 years ago this weekend in 1972 at Brownstown, Ira Bastin won the late model feature over Jim Curry, Verden Kinser, Russ Petro and Paul Crockett.

From 1972 at Haubstadt, Ira Bastin won the late model feature after Jim Curry was black-flagged for cutting through the Turn 4 infield. Snooky Bullock won the sprint car feature.

Also from 50 years ago at Twin Cities, Tommy Day won the feature race over Denny Long, Phil Fultz, Bill Cummings and Tom Wingate.

From 1982 at Haubstadt, Randy Kinser won the sprint car feature over Rich Vogler, Johnny Kemp and Kenny Schrader. Schrader won the late model main event over John Gill, Kevin Claycomb and Rick Carneal.

From 30 years ago in 1992 at Brownstown, John Gill won the late model feature over Lee Fleetwood, Don O’Neal, Steve Barnett, and Marty O’Neal. Tim Clark won the street stock feature over Darren Davis, Randy Petro, Scott Patman, and Willie Sallee. Bob Johnson took the bomber feature over John Abel, Ray Hughes, Jay Deckard and Jerry Adams.

Also from 30 years ago at Martin County Speedway in Loogootee, Ray Humphrey won the street stock feature over Terrence Johnson, Greg Benton, Cale Kern and Wally Moses. Lynn Ambrose won the UMRA feature over Travis Welpott, Terry Goff, Ronnie Combs and Chris Beaver.

From 1992 at Haubstadt, Larry Bland won the sprint car feature over Kevin Briscoe and Bob Kinser. Doug McCammon won the late model main event over Rick Carneal and Terry Woehler.

From 20 years ago in 2002 at Brownstown, Steve Barnett won the late model feature over Mark Barber Mike Jewell, Steven Godsey and Brian Wilhite. Brent Londeree won the modified feature over Alan Magner, Brady Short, Steve Trabue and Rick Gumm. Larry Harris took the bomber feature over Jim Ruddick, Matt Cummings, Ray Godsey Jr. and Paul Owens.

Also from 20 years at Twin Cities, A.J. Anderson won the sprint car feature over Eric Shively, Kevin Briscoe, Dick Gaines II, and Kevin Thomas. Tim Clark won the super stock main event over Keith Deppe, Randy Moore and Chris Deweese.

No posts to display