Election filing deadline draws near


The deadline for anyone planning to file to have their name placed on the ballot for the Nov. 8 general election is noon Tuesday.

The only way to get your name on the ballot at this point, however, is by filing a petition if you are a Libertarian or an independent with the Jackson County Clerk’s Office in Brownstown or be appointed by the Democrat or Republican parties.

As of Tuesday morning, there are no Democrats on the ballot for the 11 countywide offices up for election.

Republican candidates running unopposed are Assessor Katherine S. “Katie” Kaufman, Clerk Amanda Cunningham Lowery, District 3 Commissioner Matthew K. Reedy, District 1 Councilman Michael J. Davidson, District 2 Councilman Jake Brown, District 3 Councilman Brian H. Thompson, District 4 Councilman Austin M. Edington, Recorder Jennifer Saucerman Isaacs, Prosecuting Attorney Jeffrey A. Chalfant, Sheriff Rick Meyer and Jackson Superior Court II Judge Bruce A. MacTavish.

There will be a race on the ballot for Driftwood Township trustee featuring Democrat Joan Marcott and Republican Charles E. “Chuck” Lowery.

There also will be three township board races. They are Driftwood Township — Democrat Gary Hackman and Republicans Blaine Bonebright, John Hartley and Matt Likens; Redding Township — Democrat Mary Voss Burgmeier and Republicans Mark Adams, Sara Cunningham and Rocky Kaufman; and Vernon Township — Democrat Lenvel “Butch” Robinson and Republicans Mark Kendall, Katie Masters and Roger Teipen. Township boards consist of three members.

Petitions are due in the clerk’s office by noon Friday. School board candidates by petition only may start filing July 27. That filing period ends at noon Aug. 26.

No posts to display