Davenport takes Wednesday Night Special at Brownstown


The Castrol FloRacing Night in America Series rolled into Brownstown Speedway for the second straight year Wednesday.

This year’s race paid $22,022 to win for the Slicker Graphics Super Late Models. A good field of cars and a large crowd were on hand for this event. Blairsville, Georgia’s Jonathan Davenport dominated the 50-lap main event to score the victory.

Davenport had a healthy advantage over Bobby Pierce, Mike Marlar, Brandon Overton and reigning NASCAR Cup Series champion Kyle Larson at the checkers. Larson won the race a year ago at Brownstown. Ryan Gustin, Brandon Sheppard, Jeremy Shaw, Shane Clanton and Ricky Thornton Jr. rounded out the top 10.

NASCAR’s Chase Briscoe from Mitchell made his Super Late Model debut but got caught up in a heat race accident, which ended his night. Cole Falloway of Owensboro, Kentucky, held off Will Krupp to record the win in U.S. Air Force Modified feature action. Trailing Falloway and Krupp at the finish were Derek Groomer of Bloomington, Jordan Wever of Bloomington and John Clippinger of Evansville.

Late Model feature results: Jonathan Davenport, Bobby Pierce, Mike Marlar, Brandon Overton, Kyle Larson, Ryan Gustin, Brandon Sheppard, Jeremy Shaw, Shane Clanton, Ricky Thornton Jr., Ashton Winger, Stormy Scott, Garrett Alberson, Spencer Hughes, Tim McCreadie, Hudson O’Neal, Tyler Erb, Payton Freeman, Brian Shirley, Jared Bailey, Josh Rice, Devin Gilpin, Shannon Babb.

Modified feature results: Cole Falloway, Will Krupp, Derek Groomer, Jordan Wever, John Clippinger, Austin Holcombe, Matt Boknecht, Rick Eckert, Brayden Watson, Matthew Morris, Dustin Golden, Jeff Hamby, Ben Harmon, Jacoby Hines, John Baker Jr., Lucas Pace, Nathan Vawter, Brian Shaw, Jerry Bland Jr., Caleb Demoss.

Brownstown back in action

After a couple of weather-canceled events, the Slicker Graphics Super Late Models finally made their first appearance of 2022 on April 23.

Jared Bailey of Bedford, riding the high side of the speedway, took the lead with 15 laps to go and never looked back to record the first Super Late Model win of the year.

Bailey was followed at the checkers by Scott James of Lawrenceburg, who came from the tail to second after stopping outside the banking early in the race, Greg Johnson of Bedford, Chad Stapleton of Edinburgh and Skyller Lewis of Brownstown.

The Graphix Indiana Late Model Series Pro Late Models also were on hand for the event. Tyler Collins of North Vernon made a last-lap pass off of Turn 4 on Chad Stapleton coming to the checkers and picked up his first ILMS win of the year. Following Collins and Stapleton at the finish were Steve Peeden of Paragon, Tyler Neal of Paragon and Alan Magner of North Vernon.

It also was the first appearance of the year for the U.S. Air Force Modifieds. Jordan Wever of Bloomington led flag to flag to record his first win of 2022 over NASCAR legend Ken Schrader of Fenton, Missouri, Brayden Watson of Bedford, Tim Prince of Heltonville and Jacoby Hines of Trafalgar.

Defending Pewter Hall Super Stock track champion J.T. Huffman of Salem returned to victory lane for 2022. He took the checkers ahead of Zach Sasser of Bedford, Greg Amick of Spraytown, Isaiah Sasser of Bedford and Tucker Chastain of Bedford.

Michael Brewer of Seymour went back-to-back in Cain’s Tree Service Hornet feature action, getting his second win of the year. He took the win over Scott Smith of Brownstown, Davey Waggoner of North Vernon, Shannon Walp of Hayden and Kaleb Caudill.

Super Late Model feature results: Jared Bailey, Scott James, Greg Johnson, Chad Stapleton, Skyller Lewis, Keegan Cox, Tory Collins, Bill Sheets, Quentin White, Austin Lay, Mike Bechelli, Casey White, Kody Evans, Chuck Simons, Kody Marsee, Shane Mugavin, Shelby Miles-DNS.

Indiana Pro Late Model feature results: Tyler Collins, Chad Stapleton, Steve Peeden, Tyler Neal, Alan Magner, Justin Bowling, Greg Kendall, Britan Godsey, Dakota Jackson, Patrick Shumaker, Derrick Huber, Brian Wilhite, Brett Barrett, Bob Poole, Jug Wethington, Bodi Henry, Randy Charles, James Simmons, Keaton Streeval-DNS, Caleb Faulkner-DNS.

Modified feature results: Jordan Wever, Ken Schrader, Brayden Watson, Tim Prince, Jacoby Hines, Brent Lee, Dustin Bruce, John Clippinger, Nathan Vawter, Jay Baker Sr., Matt Boknecht, A.J. Short, Bob Sterrett, Caleb Demoss, Jerry Bland Jr., David Winters Jr., Jarod Fleetwood, Michael Wesselman, Steve Haefke-DNS.

Super Stock feature results: J.T. Huffman, Zach Sasser, Greg Amick, Isaiah Sasser, Tucker Chastain, Josh Turner, Craig Markel, Tim Eddelman, Dalton Fleenor, Troy Knorr, Glynn Neal, Blake Hull, Mickey Hines, Carlee Kern, Brent McMillan, Chris Batchelor, Colton Sullivan, Ethan Braid-DNS.

Hornet feature results: Michael Brewer, Scott Smith, Davey Waggoner, Shannon Walp, Kaleb Caudill, Hunter Perry, Jeremy Shemwell, Keaton Durbin, Jeremy Ogle, Matt Miller, Brian Henderson Sr., Brian Pollitt, Shane Reed, Phillip Fields, Jacob Owens, Jason Pollitt, Brian Henderson Jr., Tim Grevenstuk, Don Boling Jr., Skylar Ashley-DNS.

Tonight, Brownstown will host a regular program of pro late models, super stocks, pure stocks, crown vics and hornets. For information, visit brownstownspeedway.com.

Paragon Speedway results

Paragon Speedway held its weekly race program April 23. The division winners were Jake Swanson (410 sprints), Anthony Helton (steel-block sprints), Alex Wilson (hornets), Jamie Lomax (modifieds) and David Hurst (bombers).

Tonight, Paragon will host a full racing program of 410 sprints, steel-block sprints, modifieds, bombers, super stocks and hornets. For information, visit paragonspeedway.com.

Boespflug takes Lawrenceburg cash

Chad Boespflug won the sprint car feature April 23 at Lawrenceburg Speedway. Tyler Kendall finished second, followed by Joss Moffatt, Garrett Abrams and Cole Bodine.

Joel Andrews won the pure stock main event over Danny Eichler, Don Grace, Will Hayes and Lonnie Baker.

David Spille grabbed the modified feature over Jeffrey Jessup, Gage Clark, Jay Greene and Josh Walker.

Landen Ramirez won the hornet division feature over Cordell Moore, Alex West, Ryan Paciocco and Jesse Ramirez.

Tonight, Lawrenceburg will host a regular program of sprint cars, modifieds, pure stocks and hornets. For information, visit lawrenceburgspeedway.com.

This week in racing history

From 70 years ago in 1952 at 25th Street Fairgrounds Raceway in Columbus, Gene Minor won the feature race over Wayne Ford, Red Carmichael, Jim Quillen and Dale Miller.

From 50 years ago in 1972 at Bloomington, Bob Kinser won the sprint car feature over Larry Miller, Butch Wilkerson, Jack Ziegler and Rex Mitchell.

From 40 years ago in 1982 at Brownstown, Ray Godsey won the late model feature over Steve Barnett, Don Hobbs, Russ Petro and Roger Absher. Troy Burton won the street stock main event over Dan Londeree, Dave Barnett, Bill Abell and Dugan Basham.

From 1982 at Twin Cities, Lee Fleetwood won the limited late model feature over Bud Seymour, Gregg Lyle, Dee Kramer and Chuck Gilpin. Merrill Downey won the street stock feature over Earl Plessinger, Larry Gingery and Willie Sallee.

Also, from 40 years ago at Haubstadt, Kenny Schrader won the All-Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Car feature over Eddie Leavitt and Dave Blaney. The late model feature went to Tom Helfrich over Kevin Claycomb and Ray Godsey.

From 30 years ago in 1992 at Bloomington Speedway, Stevie Smith won the World of Outlaws Sprint Car feature over Steve Kinser, Sammy Swindell, Kevin Huntley and Danny Smith.

Also, from 30 years ago this weekend, Bob Kinser won the sprint car feature at Paragon over Rick Unger, Allen Barr, Larry Bland and Brad Devereaux.

No posts to display