Library board approves circulation policy changes

Library board approves circulation policy changes

The Jackson County Public Library board of trustees met Monday at the Seymour Library.

Circulation assistant Jordann Malone gave a staff report, and the board approved changes to the circulation policy that includes increasing the collection agency fee from $10 to $15, including in-house gaming equipment for teens, adding guardians or sponsors to people able to get a minor a library card, removing Kindle Fire HDX and adding Roku and outdoor games to the loan periods and household limits and adding the seed library to household limits.

A change to the credit card and accounts policy also was approved by the board, as was spending $1,322 from the library endowment fund at the Community Foundation of Jackson County on outdoor pickup lockers at the Crothersville and Medora libraries.

The next board meeting will be 4:30 p.m. May 16 at the Seymour Library, 303 W. Second St.

Seymour BZA to consider variances

The Seymour Board of Zoning Appeals will meet at 7 p.m. Tuesday in the council chambers at city hall, 301-309 N. Chestnut St., Seymour.

The agenda includes Cory Franklin requesting a variance at 1205 Whipporwill Drive to vary from the 25-foot front setback to be at 21 feet to extend a garage 4 feet from the front of the house and Timmy and Roberta Smith requesting a variance at 1402 S. O’Brien St. from the required 20-foot rear setback to be at a 12-foot setback to install a swimming pool.

The meeting is open to the public and press. Enter the door along Third Street.

Seymour Class of 2002 planning reunion

The Seymour High School Class of 2002 will have its 20th class reunion at 6 p.m. June 25 at Chateau de Pique Winery and Brewery, 6361 N. County Road 760E, Seymour.

The reunion will include food, a photo booth, a disc jockey and a photo slideshow. Committee members are asking classmates to submit photos by June 1 to have them featured in the video.

The reunion planning committee of Lauren Mincy-Vu, Kari Luedeman Storey, Evin Cramer Ehrreich, Drew Storey and Eric DiBlasi Jr. hopes to have as many classmates in attendance as possible.

There are several classmates who are not in the Seymour HS Class of 2002 Facebook group. Formal invitations will be sent to classmates who live outside of Jackson County. If you know a member of this class and have contact information to share, have them reach out to a committee member.

For information, to RSVP, share contact information or submit photos for the slideshow, email [email protected] or call or text 812-569-9311.