SHS band members excel in solo and ensemble contest


Nearly 90 members of the Seymour High School band participated in the Indiana State School Music Association Solo and Ensemble Contest on Jan. 29 at Columbus East High School.

Participants who performed a solo and received a gold medal rating for superior performance were Jordan Stevens (tuba), Rosy Domingo-Martin (violin), Wes Proffer (violin), Ava Sunbury (clarinet), Claire Sanders (French horn), Brady Burgmeier (snare), Audrey Newkirk (clarinet), Abram Yee (mallets), Aubri Engle (French horn), Alexys Thompson (clarinet), Mady Downey (mallets), Sarah Wallace (clarinet), Mallory Minton (flute), Stevie Sedam (clarinet), Rosy Domingo-Martin (flute), Olivia Fowler (trumpet), Erika Corya (clarinet), Shayla Thompson (flute), Kadin Greathouse (alto saxophone), Carlos Lezama (trombone), Marina Flandes-Soto (flute), Hannah Whitehead (clarinet), Samantha Jacobi (bassoon), Valeria Ramirez (flute), Luke Lanam (drum set), Joey Larison (alto saxophone), Samantha Fried-Cardinas (multiple percussion), Liza Stuckwisch (flute), Jessica Hougland (contra-alto clarinet) and Makenna Greenawalt (oboe).

Participants who received a silver medal rating for excellent performance were Jacob Jones (snare), Gavin Wilson (tuba), John Polbito (trumpet), Cole Simmons (baritone), Lucas Jablonski (French horn), Brandon Rodriguez (alto saxophone), Elise Hartung (alto saxophone), Jose Lezama (alto saxophone), Elise Hartung (bassoon) and Maria Ruiz (oboe).

Students participating in an ensemble and receiving a gold medal rating for superior ensemble performance were Ismael Santiago Cruz, Averie Linville and Kylee Cooper (clarinet trio), Gabe Baker, Ty Stuckwisch, Savannah Easterday, Todd Fee, Samantha Fried-Cardinas, Luke Lanam, Micah Maschino and Axel Arrona (percussion ensemble), Gabriella Parisi, Hannah Whitehead and Anthony Benitez (saxophone trio), Brady Burgmeier, Madylin Downey, Isaiah Gay, Jacob Jones, Xander Day, Jeremiah Myers, Kayden Noblitt, Eleanor Schrink and Abram Yee (percussion ensemble), Tori Fee, Aubri Engle, Enrique Morales and Elizabeth Rust (French horn quartet), Olivia Fowler, John Polbito and Dylan Nguyen (trumpet trio), Wyatt McKinney, Seth Montgomery, Gavin Wilson and Xavier Williams (low brass quartet), Katie Deppen, Will Cottrill, Clay Greenawalt, Lucas Jablonski and Jordan Stevens (brass quintet) and Rieder MacDonald, Katie Cottrill, Kenny Kelly and David Everage (trombone quartet).

Ensembles that received a silver medal rating for excellent ensemble performance were Stevie Sedam, Erika Corya, Madalyn Baurle, Hannah Whitehead, Daniela Rodriguez, Hiley Obermeyer, Bailey Engel, Audrey Newkirk, Ava Sunbury, Lilly Kelly, Kaylee McCormick, Jaylee Baker, Jillian Tormoehlen and Jessica Hougland (clarinet choir).

Twenty-two SHS band students qualified for ISSMA State Solo and Ensemble Contest on Feb. 26 at North Central High School in Indianapolis.

They are Axel Arrona, Gabe Baker, Will Cottrill, Erika Corya, Katie Deppen, Savannah Easterday, Todd Fee, Olivia Fowler, Samantha Fried-Cardinas, Clay Greenawalt, Makenna Greenawalt, Lucas Jablonski, Luke Lanam, Joey Larison, Micah Maschino, Valeria Ramirez, Stevie Sedam, Marina Flandes-Soto, Jordan Stevens (2), Liza Stuckwisch, Ty Stuckwisch and Hannah Whitehead.

The SHS band is under the direction of Kevin Cottrill, Kyle Lutes and Debbie Carroll.

No posts to display