Filing period coming to a close


Anyone planning to run for a county or township office in the May 3 primary election has just two more days to visit the clerk’s office in the Jackson County Judicial Center in Brownstown.

As of noon Tuesday, the only primary race for a countywide office is the one that pits Sheriff Rick Meyer, a Seymour Republican, against challenger Shawn Minton, also of Seymour.

The deadline to file a declaration of candidacy is noon Friday.

The remainder of the countywide offices only features one Republican candidate at this time, while no Democrat has filed for any of those offices.

The list includes Amanda Cunningham Lowery of Vallonia, county clerk; Jennifer Saucerman Isaacs of Brownstown, county recorder; Katie Kaufman of Seymour, county assessor; Matt Reedy of Freetown, District 3 county commissioner; and three of four county council district seats, Michael Davidson, District 1, Brian H. Thompson of Seymour, District 2, and Jacob C. Brown of Brownstown, District 3. No candidate has filed for county council District 4, presently held by Republican Kari Storey.

Kaufman, Reedy, Davidson and Thompson are incumbents.

Prosecutor Jeffrey Chalfant and Jackson Superior Court II Judge Bruce MacTavish, both Seymour Republicans, also are seeking re-election.

At the township level, there are three Republican races on the ballot at this time.

The first features three Brownstown residents, Daniel Banks, Elizabeth Downs and Melanie M. Potttschmidt, who are seeking the party’s nomination for Brownstown Township trustee. Saucerman Isaacs is presently the Brownstown Township trustee.

The second features Jeff Joray and Curtis D. Staley, both of Seymour, vying for Jackson Township trustee. Republican Linda Auleman is presently the Jackson Township trustee.

The third contest features Frank Fisher of Norman, the incumbent, and Dirk Smith of Medora facing off for Owen Township trustee.

At the state level, Seymour Republican Jim Lucas is running unopposed for the Indiana House District 69 seat after Salem Republican J. Michael Davisson announced late Tuesday that he planned to run for Indiana’s 9th Congressional seat. Earlier in the filing period, Davisson had filed a declaration of candidacy for the Indiana District 69 seat.

Chad Harmon, a Seymour Democrat, is unopposed in his bid for that seat at this time.

Also, the Republican primary for the District 62 House seat will feature Dave Hall of Norman, Myra Kinser of Bloomington and Greg Knott of Bloomington. The Democratic race for that party’s nomination will feature Penny Githens of Bloomington and Brad Swain of Springville.

Bedford Republican Chris May, who is the incumbent District 65 House representative, is facing a challenge from John Lee of Bedford. There is no Democrat on the ballot at this time.

There also are seven candidates on the ballot for Indiana’s Ninth Congressional District race. The Democratic candidates are Isak N. Asare, Dale D. Dorris and Matthew Fyfe, all of Boomington, while the Republican candidates are Davisson, Erin Houchin of Salem, Mike Sodrel of Jeffersonville and Bill Thomas of Corydon.

No posts to display