Local Special Olympics bowlers qualify for state


CLARKSVILLE — Fifteen Special Olympics Indiana Jackson County athletes recently competed in the Area 2 bowling tournament.

The event Nov. 6 at Blackiston Bowl in Clarksville drew 123 singles, ramp and Unified bowlers from five county programs.

While individual placings were known that day, advancement to state was unknown.

A few days after the tournament, though, results were released. All 15 of Jackson County’s bowlers qualified for the state tournament, which is set for Dec. 4 in Indianapolis. The time and location will be announced at a later date.

Jackson County had four bowlers win their division in the Area 2 tournament.

Tim Ashburn wound up being the sole bowler in his division. He rolled games of 113, 92 and 122.

Elijah Noble was first in his division, posting games of 84, 73 and 140. The latter game was the highest of any Jackson County bowler.

Others placing first were Cassie Brock (99, 79, 96) and Montana Casto (67, 85, 82). In Brock’s division, teammate Alysha Sandlin was runner-up (80, 97, 67), and Joya Buddo placed fourth (59, 72, 52).

The other two bowlers in Casto’s division were teammates Rob Smith, who placed second (67, 83, 85), and Derrick Martin, who was third (71, 59, 85).

Others earning silver medals for Jackson County were Nevaeh Ackeret (52, 43 and 67), Dennis England (93, 67, 98) and Dale Hickman (68, 123, 101).

Becky Klosterman was the other bronze medalist, placing third in England’s division with games of 67, 81 and 85. Teammate Roger Hanner placed fourth (67, 65, 71).

Donald Bennethum was fourth in Hickman’s division with games of 81, 77 and 69, and Averie Brennan earned a fourth place ribbon in her division with games of 68, 58 and 65.

Jackson County is coached by Jim Shepherd.

No posts to display