Local cross-country athletes earn academic all-state honors


The Indiana Association of Track and Cross Country Coaches released its lists of academic all-state members on Monday afternoon.

Jackson County had a solid representation of cross-country athletes on both the boys and girls lists.

Nominees must meet the following criteria: Head Coach is a current member of the IATCCC, juniors and seniors only, varsity athletes on sectional (tournament) roster (XC – Top 18 Only), minimum GPA of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, seniors need minimum SAT of 1200 or ACT composite of 26, and juniors need same as seniors or PSAT of 1140.

For the girls, Seymour had two members on the academic all-state first team: Eliana Baker and Samantha Jacobi.

Earning academic all-state honorable mention were Brownstown’s Paige McKain and Crothersville’s Ella Plasse.

For the boys, Seymour’s Michael Proffer earned all-academic first team. The Owls added three more to the honorable mention list in Jude Bane, Carter Morris and Rolando Baltazar.

Both the Seymour boys and girls cross-country teams will be competing in the Brown County semistate on Saturday at Eagle Park. Both teams are looking to advance to the state meet the following Saturday in Terre Haute on Oct. 30.

Brownstown’s McKain advanced to the semistate as an individual for the Braves, placing 23rd at regionals in a time of 20:40. Making the trip with McKain will be Chance and Shane Ratliff, the two Brownstown boys who qualified as individuals as well.

This Saturday’s semistate will kickoff with the boys race at 11:45 followed by the girls at 12:15.

No posts to display