Bios for Seymour’s 2021 Athletic Hall of Fame


Staff Reports

The Seymour High School Athletic Hall of Fame committee announced the 2021 class on Aug. 9.

The new class featured seven names: Scott Brown, Tom Bollinger, Stephanie Cooper, John Chastain, Jane Emkes, Rick Meyer and Phil Schroer.

Bollinger is a 1961 Seymour graduate, who earned nine varsity letters in football, track, wrestling and basketball. As a senior, he earned All-South Central Conference honors and won team MVP awards in football and track and was the Most Valuable Wrestler. He was named Seymour High School’s Outstanding Athlete in 1961.

Brown is a 1976 graduate, who was a four-year varsity wrestler for the Owls. He won four sectional titles, two regional championships, a semi-state title and three South Central Conference championships during his career. He also finished in the top four in the state twice.

Chastain was the Seymour boys track coach for 36 years and boys cross-country coach for 31 years. His teams won 17 sectional championships and five regional titles. His 1977 track team finished fourth in the state meet and his 1978 cross country team finished eighth in the state.

Cooper is a 1990 graduate, who earned multiple varsity letters in golf and basketball. In golf, she helped Seymour win the 1989 state championship and earned All-South Central Conference honors four times. She was the team’s co-MVP three times and earned All-State honors twice. She also was All-South Central Conference in basketball and the team co-MVP as a senior. She was selected Seymour High School’s Outstanding Female Athlete in 1990.

Emkes is a 1979 graduate, who was a three-year starter in basketball for the Lady Owls. She earned All-Sectional honors three times, All-South Central Conference honors twice and was the team MVP twice. She still holds the school record for the highest single season scoring average at 23.8 points. She was inducted into the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame in 2011.

Meyer is a 1988 graduate, who played baseball, basketball and tennis for the Owls. He led Seymour to the 1988 state baseball championship and was named All-State, All-Conference and team MVP that season. He was also the team MVP and earned All-Conference honors in basketball. He played professional baseball in the Philadelphia Phillies organization.

Schroer is a 1964 graduate, who was a multi-year starter in basketball and baseball for Seymour. As a senior, he led the Owls’ basketball team to sectional and regional titles and a berth in the semi-state championship game. He earned All-Sectional, All-Regional and All-South Central Conference honors and was named the team’s Most Outstanding Player. He was the team’s second leading scorer as a junior and also helped the Owls to sectional and regional titles. And he earned All-SCC honors while leading the Owls to a baseball conference title in 1964.

These seven individuals will be inducted into the 2021 Seymour Hall of Fame during a special ceremony prior to the Seymour-Jennings County boys varsity basketball game on Dec. 18 at Lloyd Scott Gymnasium.

No posts to display