Seymour announces 2021 Athletic Hall of Fame class


By Dylan Wallace

[email protected]

The Seymour High School Athletic Hall of Fame committee announced the 2021 class Monday.

The new class features seven new names: Scott Brown, Tom Bollinger, Stephanie Cooper, John Chastain, Jane Emkes, Rick Meyer and Phil Schroer.

Here are the requirements to be nominated as an athlete or a team for the Seymour Athletic Hall of Fame: “An athlete or team shall have completed high school at least 20 years prior to being eligible for nomination. A team is inducted and honored by the HOF with a team plaque. Individuals from the team are eligible for induction as an individual.”

And if you’re a coach or a contributor, the requirements are as follows: “An individual who has made outstanding contributions to athletics in some capacity other than athlete, such as coach, athletic administrator, sports medicine, sports media or financial supporter. The coach/contributor may be eligible after 10 years of service to SHS. If a coach/contributor has 25 years of experience at SHS, he/she would be eligible immediately.”

Any person who is properly nominated but not selected to the Athletic Hall of Fame shall remain on the list of eligible nominees for five years without having to be renominated each year.

Inductees into the hall of fame are selected by the board of directors.

The seven new inductees will be honored at the hall of fame ceremony, which will take place prior to Seymour’s boys varsity basketball game Dec. 18.

No posts to display