USAC Indiana Sprint Week ready to get rolling

The most highly anticipated week of USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship racing each summer will feature its largest point fund ever in 2021 with the NOS Energy Drink Indiana Sprint Week fund now paying $20,000 in total prize money and $10,000-to-win.

Additionally, each feature event throughout NOS Energy Drink Indiana Sprint Week will now pay $6,000-to-win and $600 to start for a total of $26,300 in nightly feature payouts throughout the 34th annual edition of the series, which features seven events during a nine-night span between July 23-31.

The top-eight in the final standings of Indiana Sprint Week will be “in the money” with a new record of $10,000 going to the series champion, plus $4,000 for 2nd, $2,000 for 3rd, $1,250 for 4th, $1,000 for 5th, $750 for 6th, $600 for 7th and $400 for 8th.

NOS Energy Drink Indiana Sprint Week 2021 will feature a familiar look, leading off the first weekend at Gas City I-69 Speedway on Friday, July 23, with Kokomo Speedway on Saturday, July 24, and Lawrenceburg Speedway on Sunday, July 25, rounding out the first wave of ISW.

After two days away from the racetrack, teams and drivers get back on the horse with the Terre Haute Action Track’s Don Smith Classic on Wednesday, July 28, Lincoln Park Speedway on Thursday, July 29, Bloomington Speedway’s Sheldon Kinser Memorial on Friday, July 30, and Tri-State Speedway on Saturday, July 31.

Past Indiana Sprint Week champions in this year’s field include defending titlist Chase Stockon (2020), C.J. Leary (2019), Chris Windom (2011 & 2018), Kevin Thomas Jr. (2017), Brady Bacon (2016) and Robert Ballou (2015).

Indiana Sprint Week’s complete list of champions boasts Randy Kinser (1988), Chuck Amati (1989 & 1990), Gary Trammell (1990), Bob Kinser (1991), Kevin Thomas (1992-1993-1995-1996), Kelly Kinser (1994), J.J. Yeley (1997 & 2003), Dave Darland (1998-2001-2007), Tony Elliott (1999), Jay Drake (2000), Cory Kruseman (2002 & 2005), Levi Jones (2004-2008-2009-2012), Jon Stanbrough (2006 & 2010) and Bryan Clauson (2013 & 2014).

Levi Jones and Kevin Thomas own the most Indiana Sprint Week championships with four apiece while Dave Darland possesses the most feature victories with 20.

Indiana Sprint Week’s inaugural edition occurred in 1988 and has been sanctioned by the United States Auto Club every year since 1996.

Pierce takes Circle City event

Bobby Pierce won his eighth Summer nationals event of the year on July 14 at the Circle City raceway in Indianapolis. Former Brownstown Speedway late model and modified track champion Joe Godsey finished in second after starting in tenth. Spencer Hughes driving the PCC Motorsports entry based out of Hope finished in third. Tanner English and Rusty Schlenk completed the top five.

Completing the top ten were Ashton Winger, Devin Gilpin, Mitch McGrath, Jason Feger and Steve Peeden. Nick Hoffman won his 13th Summer nationals modified feature.

Columbus go-karts back tonight

After a long respite due to weather the Columbus Speedway Go-Kart Racing will be back racing tonight at Tony Stewart Speedway located at the Bartholomew County 4-H Fairgrounds. There will be a drivers meeting at 5:30 p.m. with practice and racing to follow.

Brownstown racing tonight

After being rained out last weekend the Brownstown Speedway will be hosting the “Bobby Wilson Memoria” tonight. On the card will be super late models, pro late models, super stocks, pure stocks, and hornets. For more information, visit

Twin Cities racing tonight

After being rained out last weekend, the Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon will be racing tonight with the MSCS 410 sprints, MMSA mini-sprints, 305 RaceSaver sprints, hornets and TQ midgets. For further information, visit

Lawrenceburg off tonight

After being rained out last weekend, the Lawrenceburg Speedway will be idle tonight. The next event scheduled is July 25 with the USAC Indiana Sprint Week plus modifieds on July 25. For ticket information, visit

Indiana pro late model schedule update

The Indiana Pro Late Models will be in action tomorrow at the Circle City Raceway in Indianapolis and then again on Friday at the Paragon Speedway in Paragon.

This week in racing history

From 50 years ago in 1971 at the 25th Street Fairgrounds Raceway in Columbus, it was Gene Petro winning the V-8 stock car feature over Russ Smiley and Paul Crockett. Tommy Day won the V-6 feature over Ron Eddy, Leo Boner and Larry Exner.

Also, from 50 years ago at Paragon Speedway, Allen Barr won the sprint car feature over Danny Bowlen, Bob Kinser, Orval Yeadon and Mike Johnson.

From 40 years ago in 1981 at Brownstown, Russ Petro won the late model feature over Don Hobbs, Steve Barnett, Kenny Simpson and Tony Moore. Troy Burton won the modified street stock feature over Darrell Smallwood, Jack Turner, Russ Smiley and Merrill Downey.

Also, from 1981 at Twin Cities, Gary Herbert won the late model feature over Tommy Day, Dee Kramer, Steve Boley and Bud Seymour. It as Herbert’s ninth win of the year at Twin Cities. Ron Hoover won the street stock feature over Mark Bruce, R.C. Calton and Bucky Ross.

From 30 years ago in 1991 at Brownstown, it was Doug McCammon winning the late model feature over Bob Pierce, Don O’Neal, Kevin Claycomb and Doug Ault. Scott Patman won the street stock feature over Mark Barber, Randy Petro, Tony Godsey and Tim Clark. Ray Hughes took the bomber feature over Jeff Wilson, Murl Robinson, Jeff Helton and John Finn.

Also, from 1991 at Haubstadt, Steve Kinser won the World of Outlaws sprint car feature over Sammy Swindell and Dave Blaney. Doug McCammon won the late model feature over Eddie Pace and Greg Williams.

From 20 years ago in 2001 at Brownstown, Billy Moyer won the Summer nationals late model feature over Bob Pierce, Kevin Weaver, Billy Drake and Jim Curry. Bubba Woods won the bomber feature over Jim Ruddick, Matt Bex, Clifton Barron and Matt Cummings.

From 10 years ago in 2011 at Brownstown, Shannon Babb won the Summer nationals late model feature over Dennis Erb Jr., Dustin Neat, Dillan White and Jack Sullivan. John DeMoss won the modified feature over Devin Gilpin, Nick Allen, Clint DeMoss and Jacoby Hines.

No posts to display