Waggoner, Gilpin among recent race winners

By James Essex

Devin Gilpin of Columbus held off Darrell Lanigan at the checkers to win the seventh annual Born Free 40 for Slicker Graphics Super Late Models on July 3 at Brownstown Speedway.

Gilpin now has four Born Free 40 victories. His car is owned by his grandfather, Don Fleetwood of Brownstown. The win for the third-generation racer was worth $5,000.

Lanigan took second, followed by Shelby Miles, Jared Bailey and Steve Peeden. Sixth through 10th went to Britan Godsey, Caleb Schryer, Matt Bex, Dusty Chapman and Casey White.

Jacoby Hines of Trafalgar picked up his third Backwoods Express Modified feature win of the year. He led Matt Boknecht, Brent Lee, Bill Lewis and Tim Prince at the finish.

Tanner Chastain of Bedford recorded his first Brownstown Speedway victory in Pewter Hall Super Stocks ahead of Matt Boknecht, Tucker Chastain, Mike Fields and Branden Carr. There have been six different winners out of eight Super Stock features this year.

Dalton Roark of Madison captured win No. 3 in All in 1 Pools Pure Stocks. Dusten Carr, Edgar Godsey, J.T. Huffman and Tory Routier rounded out the top five.

In Hornet feature action, Davey Waggoner of North Vernon got his second win of the season. He took the checkers ahead of Shannon Walp, Hunter Perry, Jason Graham and Bill Hobbs.

Tonight, Brownstown will host a regular show for pro late models, modifieds, pure stocks, crown vics and MMSA mini sprints. For information, visit brownstownspeedway.com.

Arms wins 10th Merrill Downey Memorial

Ricky Arms wasn’t considered a favorite entering the 10th running of the Merrill Downey Memorial on July 3 at Lawrenceburg Speedway.

Arms was one of 78 UMP Modifieds who entered the night in pursuit of picking of the winner’s check of $10,444.44. The 44-lap feature began with two of the favorites, Tyler Nicely and Nick Hoffman, battling for the lead. Both drivers had very good race cars and battled side by side for the lead for several laps.

Hoffman secured the lead, and Nicely entered Turn 3 to the inside of Hoffman. The two made contact and both cars spun out and came to stop in turns 3 and 4. Both Nicely and Hoffman were able to continue, but both cars had to restart from the back. This turned the lead over to Arms on the restart.

Arms jumped out to a commanding lead on the restart, building more than a 5-second lead. At the back of the field, Nicely and Hoffman methodically worked their way through the field toward the top five. Without a caution flag, it would be almost impossible for either Nicely or Hoffman to contend for the win. The race would remain under green until the checkered flag. Arms was never seriously challenged.

Bryan Barber finished second, followed by Nicely, Hoffman and K.C. Burdette. Arms’ total winnings with lap leader money was $11,032. Heat race winners were Nicely, Seth Daniels, Arms, Dylan Woodling, Hoffman and Kyle Schornick. B main winners were Josh Harris and Cole Parker. Fast time qualifiers for their respective groups were Kyle Steffens, Trent Young and Nick Hoffman.

Robby Hensley won the late model feature. He quickly made his way to the front and held off a hard-charging Austyn Mills to take the checkered flag. Following Hensley across the line was Trevor Landrum, who got around Mills after Mills’ last-ditch effort to pass Hensley failed, followed by Mills, Jerry Bowersock and Tristan Chamberlain. Heat race winners were Duane Chamberlain, David Webb and Robby Hensley.

Tonight, Lawrenceburg will host a regularly scheduled program of sprints, modifieds, pure stocks and hornets. For information, visit lawrenceburgspeedway.com.

Peeden wins at Scottsburg

Steve Peeden of Martinsville won the Indiana Pro Late Model Series race July 4 during the Scott County 4-H Fair in Scottsburg. Robert Rainey was second, followed by Tyler Neal, Brett Wagner and Austin Burton.

Davey Waggoner of North Vernon followed up his win the previous night at Brownstown by winning the hornet feature at Scottsburg. Dusten Carr of Underwood won the pure stock main event, and Jeffery Cranmer of Memphis won the crown vic feature.

Twin Cities racing tonight

After an off weekend the Fourth of July, Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon will be racing tonight with pure stocks, modifieds, hornets, super stocks, 410 steel blocks and crown vics on the racing schedule. For information, visit twincitiestrack.com.

This week in racing history

From 70 years ago in 1951 at Columbus Speedway, Red Carmichael won the feature race over Bobby Baker and Jim Quillen.

From 60 years ago in 1961 at Lawrenceburg, Mike Johnson won the feature event.

From 50 years ago this weekend at Bloomington Speedway, Mike Johnson won the sprint car feature over Jack French, A.J. Simpson, Leon Thickstun and Allen Barr.

From 40 years ago this weekend at Brownstown Speedway, second-generation driver Pete Willoughby won the late model feature over Kenny Simpson, Russ Petro, Ira Bastin and Don Hobbs. Russ Smiley won the modified street stock feature over Darrell Smallwood, Gregg Lyle, Troy Burton and Roger Sullivan.

Also, from 1981 at Twin Cites, Tommy Day won the late model feature over Lee Fleetwood, Gary Herbert, Dee Kramer and Steve Boley. R.C. Calton won the street stock feature over Don Walp, Dan Sallee, Bucky Ross and Jim Short.

In 1981, Kerry Norris won his third straight sprint car feature at Lawrenceburg Speedway.

Also, from 40 years ago in 1981 at Paragon Speedway, Rickey Hood won the sprint car feature over Randy Kinser, Bob Kinser, Chuck Amati and Eric Trousdale.

From 30 years ago in 1991 at Brownstown, C.J. Rayburn won the late model feature over Jack Boggs, Doug Ault, Lee Fleetwood and Mike Balzano. Randy Petro won the street stock feature over Earl Plessinger, Darren Davis, Darin George and Delbert Ross. George Berry won the bomber feature over Ray Hughes, Rusty Smiley, Jeff Helton and Don Walp.

Also, from 1991 at Paragon, Todd Shields won the sprint car feature race over Randy Kinser, Tony Elliott, Bob Kinser and Jason Smith.

From 1991 at Haubstadt, Mike Gibbs won the late model feature over Doug McCammon and Steve Karnes. Gary Hayhurst Jr. took the sprint car feature over Kevin Briscoe and Rick Unger.

From 20 years ago in 2001 at Brownstown, John Gill won the late model feature over Jim Curry, Ernie Barrow, Mike Jewell and Steve Barnett. Jim Ruddick took the bomber feature over Matt Bex, Matt Cummings, Bubba Woods and Robert Walters. Gregg O’Neill won the super stock main event over Jay Deckard, Rick Hines, Brad Cummings and Jeremy Hines.

No posts to display