Brownstown Speedway to host Born Free 40 tonight


Dusten Carr of Underwood pulled off a last-lap pass on Will McRoberts to win the All in 1 Pools Pure Stock Special Don Russ Memorial on June 26 at Brownstown Speedway.

James Essex  File photo
James Essex File photo

Carr now has five All in 1 Pools Pure Stock feature wins for the year.

McRoberts ran second with Dalton Roark, Edgar Godsey and Dalton Fleenor rounding out the top five. Sixth through 10th were Buddy Stearns, Tommy Fleenor, Keaton Streeval, Josh Hayes and Corebin McRoberts.

Shelby Miles of Bloomington posted win No. 2 for the year in P3 Graphix ILMS Pro Late Model feature action. He was followed by Steve Peeden, Tyler Collins, Tyler Neal and Colton Sullivan.

In Backwoods Express Modifieds, Derek Groomer of Bloomington got his first Brownstown win of 2021. Groomer, the sixth different Backwoods Express Modifieds winner for the year, finished ahead of Tyler Nicely, Jacoby Hines, John DeMoss and Jared Bailey.

For the Pewter Hall Super Stocks, Branden Carr of Scottsburg picked up his first Super Stock win for the year. Tanner Chastain, J.T. Huffman, Zach Sasser and Steve Hollars trailed Carr at the checkers.

In Crown Vic action, Michael Cranmer of Jeffersonville recorded win No. 4 for the year. Cranmer led Brandon Cranmer, Aaron Seay, Billy Heil and Anthony Finley at the finish.

Tonight, Brownstown will host the Born Free 40 for super late models paying $5,000 to win. Also competing will be open wheel modifieds, super stocks, pure stocks and hornets. For information, visit

Swanson wins Bloomington sprints

Jake Swanson won the sprint car feature June 25 at Bloomington Speedway.

A.J. Hopkins finished second, followed by Cole Bodine, Jordan Kinser and Brayden Fox. Wes McClara won the super stock feature over Austin Phelps, Brad Frye, Zach Sasser and Josh Litton. Tyler Nicely took the open wheel modified feature over Derek Groomer, Jacoby Hines, John DeMoss and Jeff Deckard.

The next scheduled race at Bloomington will be July 16 with a full program of sprints, modifieds, super stocks and 305 Racesaver sprints.

Columbus go-karts rained out

The Columbus Speedway Go-Kart Racing’s program scheduled for June 28 at the Bartholomew County 4-H Fair was rained out. The next scheduled event will be in Greensburg on July 8 for the Decatur County 4-H Fair.

Twin Cities off tonight

Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon is idle tonight. On June 26, the feature winners were Justin Walters (pure stocks) and Davey Waggoner (hornets).

Lawrenceburg special tonight

Lawrenceburg Speedway will be running the Merrill Downey Memorial tonight featuring open wheel modifieds and late models. For information, visit

Scottsburg racing Sunday

Indiana Pro Late Model Series will be racing Sunday at the Scott County 4-H Fairgrounds in Scottsburg. The drivers meeting is at 5:30 p.m., followed by hot laps at 6 p.m.

This week in racing history

From 70 years ago in 1951 at 25th Street Fairgrounds Raceway in Columbus, hometown racer Bobby Burton won the feature for the Indiana Hard Top Racing Association. Gene Minor was second, followed by Muscles Foster.

Also, from 1951 at the Columbus Speedway, hometown driver Gene Minor won the feature race in a 1938 Ford.

From 60 years ago in 1961 at Mitchell Speedway in Mitchell, Allen Barr won the feature race over Cecil Beavers, Larry Miller and Orval Yeadon.

From 50 years ago tonight at Brownstown Speedway, there were two 100-lap late model features held. Jim Curry won the first one over Bob Fleetwood, Dennis Boknecht, Dick Brinegar and Pete Willoughby. Kenny Simpson took the second feature over Curry, Willoughby, Teako Ray and Don Hobbs.

Also, from 50 years ago this weekend in 1971 at Bloomington, Sheldon Kinser won the sprint car feature over Johnny Krebbs, Calvin Gilstrap, Rex Mitchell and Ed Angle.

Also, from 1971 at Haubstadt, Jack Owens won the late model feature over Jim Curry and Don Turpin. Sheldon Kinser picked up his second win of the Fourth of July weekend, winning the sprint car feature over Larry Miller, Dick Gaines, Frank Hollingsworth and Jack Cook.

Also, from 50 years ago in 1971 at Whitewater Valley Speedway in Liberty, it was Billy Teegarden winning the late model feature over Gene Petro, Vern LeFevers, Billy Brandenburg and Ron Baker.

From 30 years ago in 1991 at Brownstown, hometown driver Doug Ault won the late model feature over Lee Fleetwood, Ernie Barrow, Don O’Neal and Ira Bastin. Scott McKeand won the street stock feature race over Scott Patman, Jeff Terry, Randy Petro and Earl Plessinger. Ray Hughes was victorious in the bomber feature over Jeff Wilson, George Berry, Randy Sutton and Kevin Sebastian.

From 20 years ago in 2001 at Brownstown, Mark Barber won the late model feature over Dan Sturgeon, Ernie Barrow, Greg Johnson and Marty O’Neal. Matt Bex won the bomber feature over Bubba Woods, Jim Ruddick, Robert Walters and Matt Cummings. Earl Plessinger won the open wheel modified feature over Adam Sasser, Matt Boknecht and Lee Hobbs.

From 10 years ago in 2011 at Brownstown, Bubba Woods won the bomber special over Mark Bruce, Aaron Fields, Todd McDonald and Darren Crawhorn. Shannon Reed won the pro late model feature race over Steven Godsey, Marty Cooper, Keaton Streeval and Brad Cummings. Tyler Cain took the super stock main event over Jason Combs, Jason Hehman, Tim Clark and Jeremy Hines. Mickey Hines won the pure stock feature over Jared Burton, Mark Hines, Josh Phelps and Curt Bennett. Quintin Strope won the hornet division feature over Lucas Jackson, R.J. Perry, Dustin Foster, and Justin Patterson.

No posts to display