Owens gets second straight win in Salem

By James Essex

Jeremy Owens of North Vernon won his second straight crate late model feature June 18 at Thunder Valley Raceway in Salem.

Zack Burton of Edinburgh was second, followed by Dusten Carr from Underwood.

Owens’ sponsors are All Star Paving, Gilpin Electric and Generator, Spanky’s Meats and Food Trailer, Erwin Customs, Procoat Products, Pewter Hall, Wagner 28 Motorsports, Cains Tree Service, Right Auto Parts, SuperHeat Solutions, Black Diamond Race Cars, Lee’s Tire and 4×4, P3 Graphix and OCC Seamless Gutters.

O’Neal wins in Tennessee

Martinsville native Hudson O’Neal, who now resides in Hope, won the feature event June 19 at Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, Tennessee.

Spencer Hughes finished second in the Craig and Shannon Sims PCC Motorsports entry that is based in Hope.

O’Neal is currently second in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series championship point standings, 30 points behind Tim McCreadie. O’Neal will be in action tonight at Deer Creek Speedway in Spring Valley, Minnesota. The race will be streamed live on MAVTVPlus. To subscribe, go to mavtvplus.com.

Columbus go-karts at fair

Columbus Speedway Go-Kart Racing will be racing Monday at the 2021 Bartholomew County 4-H Fair in Columbus.

Stewart racing at the fair

Tony Stewart’s All-Star Circuit of Champions TQ Midgets will be racing Tuesday at the 2021 Bartholomew County 4-H Fair.

Brownstown racing tonight

After being rained out June 19, Brownstown Speedway will hold a full racing program tonight highlighted by the Don Russ Memorial for pure stocks.

Also competing will be the pro late models, open wheel modifieds, super stocks and crown vics. For information, visit brownstownspeedway.com.

Twin Cities racing tonight

After being rained out June 19, Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon will be in action tonight with 410-winged sprint cars, 305 sprints, hornets, and pure stocks. For information, visit twincitiestrack.com.

Lawrenceburg off until July

There will be no racing tonight at Lawrenceburg Speedway. Last weekend’s events were rained out.

The next scheduled race will be the Merrill Downey Memorial for modifieds and late models July 3. For up-to-date info, visit lawrenceburgspeedway.com.

Florence racing tonight

Florence Speedway in Union, Kentucky, will be racing tonight with a regular program consisting of super late models, crate late models, modifieds and sport modifieds.

Then Thursday, Florence will host a $10,000-to-win super late model program. For the latest info, visit florencespeedway.com.

This week in racing history

From 70 years ago in 1951 at 25th Street Fairgrounds Raceway in Columbus, Pat O’Connor won his third straight Mutual Racing Association feature event over Red Renner, Justin King and Sam Skinner.

Also, from 1951 at “The Hill” or “The Hole” known as Columbus Speedway, Johnny Poore won the season-opening race over Bill Miller, Gene Minor and Harry Reynolds.

From 60 years ago in 1961 at Brownstown Speedway, it was Cecil Beavers winning his fifth straight feature race over Elmer Davis and Bob Rose. The jalopy class feature was taken by Jim Adams over Mack Pace and Eddie Bond.

From 50 years ago this weekend in 1971 at 25th Street Raceway, it was Jack Owens winning the V-8 late model feature over Paul Crockett, Joe Lobb, Don Hobbs and Bill Smith. George Morgan won the V-6 feature over Larry Exner, Tommy Day, Gary Herbert and Chuck Gilpin.

From 50 years ago tonight in 1971 at Brownstown, it was Jim Curry winning the late model feature over Mel Vails, Ira Bastin and Pete Willoughby.

Also, from 50 years ago tonight at Twin Cities, it was J.C. Stainbrook winning the feature race over Johnny Robbins, Phil Fultz, Larry Exner and Ron Clark.

In 1971 at Whitewater Valley Speedway in Liberty, Gene Petro won his seventh late model feature of the year at the track over Vern LeFevers, Kenny Baker and Billy Teegarden.

Also, from 1971 at Haubstadt, Larry Miller won the sprint car feature over Mike Johnson, Bob Kinser, Cliff Cockrum and Wes Stafford. Jim Curry won the late model feature over Jack Owens and Tom Helfrich.

From 50 years ago in 1971 at Paragon, Larry Miller won the sprint car feature over Cecil Beavers, Calvin Gilstrap, Johnny Krebbs and Larry Goffett. Rodney Harris won the stock car feature.

From 40 years ago in 1981 at Brownstown, Kenny Simpson won the late model feature over Tony Moore, Roger Absher, Pete Willoughby and Doug Ault. Bobby Johnson won the modified street stock feature over Ernie Niemoeller, Roger Sullivan, Jack Turner and Earl Plessinger.

Also, from 1981 at Twin Cities, it was Gary Herbert winning the late model feature over Lee Fleetwood, Tommy Day, Dee Kramer and Jim Ruddick. Darrell Smallwood won the street stock feature over Willie Sallee, Ted Pfeiffer Jr., R.C. Calton and Ron Hoover.

Also, from 1981 at Paragon, Rickey Hood won the sprint car feature over Larry Goad, Bob Kinser, Randy Kinser and Jack Zeigler.

From 1981, Kerry Norris continued his hot streak as he won three straight features over this weekend 40 years ago at Putnamville, Lawrenceburg and Kokomo. Norris ended the month of June winning five straight sprint car feature races in the Dave and Sylvia Norris-owned car.

From 30 years ago in 1991 at Haubstadt, it was Rick Carneal winning the late model feature over Doug McCammon and Kevin Claycomb. Larry Bland won the sprint car feature over Brad Devereaux and Mike Thurman.

From 20 years ago in 2001 at Brownstown, Mike Jewell won the Lee Fleetwood Memorial for late models. Kevin Claycomb was second, followed by Jesse Lay, Darrell Lanigan and Jim Curry. Jim Ruddick won the bomber feature over Matt Bex, Matt Cummings, Darrell Burton and Charlie Stevens Jr. Rick Hines won the super stock feature over his son, Jeremy Hines, Brad Cummings, Jay Deckard and Gregg O’Neill.

No posts to display