O’Neal gets biggest career win in Show-Me 100

Hudson O’Neal recorded the biggest win of his racing career May 29 at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Missouri.

The third-generation racer picked up the $30,000 first-place prize in the 29th annual Show-Me 100 presented by ProtectheHarvest.com.

The event was sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series and Lucas Oil MLRA Series.

The 20-year-old Martinsville native who now lives in Hope took the lead on Lap 68 from series points leader Tim McCreadie and then marched away to win the first crown jewel event of the 2021 season.

In a competitive race that saw five different race leaders, O’Neal crossed the finish line in jubilant fashion for his third series win of the season and the 10th of his career.

Brandon Sheppard made a late-race charge to finish second behind O’Neal. Josh Richards took the third spot with McCreadie and Shane Clanton rounding out the top five.

Richards from the pole led the first laps of the race before yielding to Clanton on the fifth circuit. Clanton then held the point until four-time Show-Me 100 winner Jimmy Owens took over the lead. McCreadie then took charge on Lap 41 as he led until O’Neal passed him with 32 laps remaining.

O’Neal emerged from his car with tears streaming down his face after the 100-lap thriller as he joined his father, Don, as the only father-son combo to win the Memorial Day weekend tradition that began in 1993.

“I looked up at the board with about 18 to go and my signal guy, Eric Webber, was telling me they were closing a little bit,” he said. “I didn’t drive the greatest the last 20 laps by any means, but it was just good enough. I knew we had a race car to win this thing earlier in the weekend. My dad called and gave me some words of encouragement that we could do this. I just wanted to drive my own race.

“I started fifth and got to fourth. We all got kind of spread out, and we weren’t making up a whole lot of time. This is surreal. I don’t think we will leave this place tonight.”

Sheppard driving his family-owned car finished 1.4 seconds behind O’Neal at the finish.

“I pulled up alongside Hudson after the race and gave him a thumbs up,” he said. “He deserved it. He’s a tough competitor. We kind of have grown up together. He’s a little younger than I am. It’s cool seeing these young guys get one. They had the track awesome all weekend long. This is a fun place to race at.”

Richards, who won the tribute to Don and Billie Gibson on Friday night, came home in third.

“Hudson did a great job. Hats off to him. He has been really consistent this year,” he said. “We had a really good weekend. We led early on and then went back a little. I thought we might run fifth, but we got going there and got a little bit of momentum at the end to get back to third.”

The winner’s Roger Sellers/Double Down Motorsports Rocket Chassis is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and sponsored by Lazydays RV, O’Neal’s Salvage and Recycling, Lucas Oil Products, 2150 Enterprises, WR1 Sim Chassis and Midwest Sheet Metal.

Completing the top 10 were Mike Marlar, Ricky Thornton Jr., Owens, Kyle Bronson and Brian Shirley.

Lanigan wins Eldora

Darrell Lanigan of Union, Kentucky, won the Johnny Appleseed Classic on May 30 at Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio.

Ricky Weiss crossed the line in second, followed by Scott James, Freddie Carpenter and Devin Moran.

Completing the top 10 were Nick Hoffman, Kody Evans, Robby Hensley, Matt Miller and Steve Casebolt.

Next up at Eldora will be the Dual Dreams June 9 through 12. For ticket and seating information, visit eldoraspeedway.com.

Larson wins Lawrenceburg

Less than 24 hours after winning the Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway, Kyle Larson ventured to Lawrenceburg Speedway and came home victorious in the World of Outlaws Sprint Car feature May 31.

Tonight, Lawrenceburg will host the USAC Midget Week along with sprints and modifieds. For further information, visit lawrenceburgspeedway.com.

Twin Cities racing tonight

After being off last weekend, Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon will be back in action tonight with a full racing program of crate late models, open wheel modifieds, super stocks, pure stocks, crown vics and hornets.

For the latest information, visit twincitiestrack.com.

Brownstown off tonight

After having the May 28 and 29 races rained out, Brownstown Speedway will be off tonight.

The next scheduled event will be June 12 with pro late models, super stocks, pure stocks, crown vics and hornets. For information, visit brownstownspeedway.com.

This week in racing history

From 60 years ago in 1961 at Brownstown Speedway, Cecil Beavers won the feature race over Dick Gaines and Calvin Gilstrap.

From 50 years ago tonight in 1971 at Brownstown, it was Kenny Simpson winning the late model feature race over Dennis Boknecht, Russ Petro, Pete Willoughby and John Warner.

Also, from 50 years ago tonight at Twin Cities, Tommy Day won his ninth straight feature over Johnny Robbins, Ron Eddy, Jim Giltner and Bruce Steinert.

Also, from 1971 at Bloomington Speedway, Bob Kinser won the sprint car feature over Sheldon Kinser and Larry Miller. The next night at Paragon Speedway, Miller took the win over Bob Kinser.

From 1971 at Lawrenceburg Speedway, Ross Smith won the late model feature over Vern LeFevers, Rollie Alvers, Tommy Day and Phil Fultz.

From 50 years ago this weekend at Whitewater Valley Speedway in Liberty, it was Gene Petro winning the late model feature over Ross Smith, Vern LeFevers and Kenny Baker.

From 40 years ago in 1981 at Brownstown, Don Hobbs won the All-Star Circuit of Champions Late Model feature over Steve Barnett, Russ Petro, Pat Patrick and Wally Heminger. Ron Hoover won the modified street stock feature over Troy Burton, John Mull, Gordon Stoneking and Tony Darnell.

From 30 years ago in 1991 at Brownstown, there were two late model features ran. Kevin Claycomb won the first feature over C.J. Rayburn, Mike Jewell, Doug Ault and Steve Barnett. Don O’Neal won the second feature over Greg Williams, Ernie Barrow, Mike Gibbs and Mike Jewell. Mark Cummins won the winged sprint car feature over Kevin Briscoe, Rick Unger, Gary Trammell and Randy Kinser. Mark Barber won the street stock feature over Scott McKeand, Earl Plessinger, Darin George and Greg Sims. Ray Hughes took the bomber feature over Rusty Smiley, Jay Deckard, Murl Robinson and Dale Hobbs.

No posts to display