Smith among winners in Jennings County go-karts

Johnny Smith of Columbus was among the division winners May 21 when the Jennings County Outlaw Karting held a 14-race program at the Jennings County 4-H Fairgrounds in North Vernon.

Smith bested 25 other entries in the 380-clone class to take the first-place prize. He also captured the 340-clone class.

Other division winners were Connor Perry (youth champs), Layden Burton (junior champs), Colton Aldridge (rwyb), Raelynn Kramer (rookies), Calli Lucas (adult pure stock pred), Conner Smith (junior 1), Robert Doyle (senior champ), Leroy Blevins (limited open), Matthew Baylor (junior 2), Colton Lucas (flatheads), Ricky Bernard (junior 3) and Bryce Foley (420 clone).

No go-karts tonight

Columbus Speedway Go-Kart Racing, which holds events at the Bartholomew County 4-H Fairgrounds, will not be racing tonight due to the fair board working on the safer barrier wall this week to get ready for fair week. The next event will be June 5.

7 drivers win at Brownstown

For the second week in a row, seven feature events were on the card for Saturday Night Racing on May 22 at Brownstown Speedway. Seven drivers visited Victory Lane in the feature events.

In P3 Graphix ILMS Pro Late Model action, 2020 ILMS champion Shelby Miles of Bloomington got his first win of the year, leading the feature event from flag to flag. He was followed by Austin Tunny, Steve Peeden, James Edsall and Austin Burton. Rounding out the top 10 were Keaton Streeval, Robert Rainey, Zack Burton, Justin Bowling and Dylan Norman.

Jacoby Hines of Trafalgar visited Victory Lane for the second straight week in Backwoods Express Modifieds. Hines was challenged on the final lap by Jordan Wever but held on for the win. Jared Bailey, Matt Boknecht and Tim Rivers completed the top five.

All in 1 Pools Pure Stocks had two features for the night. In the makeup feature from May 8, Dusten Carr of Underwood recorded his third win of the year. He led Streeval, Dalton Roark, Josh Hayes and Buddy Stearns at the finish. In the night’s regular All in 1 Pools Pure Stock feature event, Roark of Madison picked up his second win for 2021. Carr, Edgar Godsey, Bailey Jones and Conner Mertens followed Roark at the finish.

In Crown Vic action, Michael Cranmer of Jeffersonville recorded his third feature win of the year. He took the checkers ahead of Phillip Boudreaux, Jack Roberts, Brian Moore and Billy Heil.

The Hornet division also ran two feature events for the night. Davey Waggoner of North Vernon got his first Brownstown win in the Hornet makeup feature from May 8. He followed by Jacob Owens, Greg Garrison, Gabe Caudill and Shane Reed. The second Hornet feature of the night saw Jacob Owens of North Vernon record his third win of 2021. He was trailed by Blake Durbin, Davey Waggoner, Kaleb Caudill and Greg Garrison.

Tonight, Brownstown will host a complete racing program for super late models, pro late models, modifieds, super stocks and pure stocks. For information, visit

Twin Cities holds Fleetwood Memorial

Twin Cities Raceway Park in Vernon held the Bill “Pappy” Fleetwood Memorial Race on May 22.

Josh Turner of Edinburgh won his second straight super stock feature. Other feature winners were Hunter Perry (hornets), Daniel Moore of North Vernon (pure stocks), Tripp Gerrald of Lexington, Kentucky (MMSA mini sprints) and Jeffery Cranmer of Memphis (crown vics).

There will be no racing tonight at Twin Cities. Its next event will be June 5 with Fan Appreciation Night featuring crate late models, modifieds, pure stocks, super stocks, hornets and crown vics. For information, visit

Gilpin wins in Kentucky

Devin Gilpin of Columbus won his third late model feature of the month May 22 at Lake Cumberland Speedway in Burnside, Kentucky.

The third-generation racer led all 30 laps to win the Johnny Wheeler Memorial Race worth $5,031.

Dustin Linville finished in second, followed by Jared Hawkins, Jensen Ford and Zack Dohm.

Lawrenceburg racing Monday

After two off weekends, Lawrenceburg Speedway will be back in action Monday night with the World of Outlaw Sprint Cars and open wheel modifieds. For information, visit

This week in racing history

From 60 years ago in 1961 at Brownstown Speedway, it was Cecil Beavers winning the feature race over Dick Gaines and Orval Yeadon.

From 50 years ago this weekend, Brownstown celebrated the Memorial Day weekend, and tonight in 1971, Jim Curry won the late model feature over Pete Willoughby, Kenny Simpson, Russ Petro and William Wampler. On Monday night, Teako Ray won the late model feature over Jim Curry, Don Hobbs, Kenny Simpson and Russ Petro.

Also from 50 years ago this weekend, Tommy Day won his seventh and eighth straight feature races to start the season at Twin Cities. Tonight in 1971, Day won the feature over Johnny Robbins, Pee Wee Day, Phil Fultz and Denny Long. On Monday Night Day won over Denny Long, Phil Fultz, Hillbilly Ogle and Gary Herbert.

From 50 years ago at Paragon Speedway, Larry Miller won the sprint car feature over Frank Hollingsworth, Sheldon Kinser, Mike Bowlen and Cecil Beavers.

From 1971 at Whitewater Valley Speedway in Liberty, Gene Petro outran Billy Teegarden to win the late model feature. Rollie Alvers, Kenny Baker and Billy Brandenburg completed the top five drivers.

Also from the weekend in 1971, Bob Kinser won the sprint car feature at Bloomington over Dick Sutcliffe, Mike Johnson, Cliff Cockrum and Calvin Gilstrap.

From 40 years ago in 1981 at Brownstown, Russ Petro won the late model feature over Steve Barnett, Freddy Smith, Gerald Dixon and Carl Collins. Ernie Niemoeller won the modified street stock feature race over Regis Scaggs, Rick Hines, Gordon Stoneking and Gene Minor.

Also from 1981 at Twin Cities, Gary Herbert won the late model feature over Tommy Day, Eddie Carrier Sr., Dee Kramer and Bud Seymour. Scott McKeand won the street stock feature over Willie Sallee, Mark Bruce, Kenny Poole and John Mitchell.

From 30 years ago in 1991 at Bloomington Speedway, Jon Stanbrough won the sprint car feature over Gary Fisher, Ray Morgan, Troy Link and Jeff Walker.

Also from 30 years ago this weekend at Haubstadt, Kevin Briscoe won the sprint car feature over J.C. Sulawske, Kerry Norris, Randy Kinser and Chuck Amati.

From 10 years ago in 2011 at Brownstown, Danny Hupp won the pure stock feature over Josh Phelps, Mickey Hines, Will McRoberts and Tim Roberts. Todd Gilpin won the bomber feature over Bubba Woods, Jerry Wilson, Mark Bruce and Aaron Fields. Jeremy Hines won the pro late model feature over Marty O’Neal, Mark Barber, Shannon Reed and Joe Godsey. Devin Gilpin won the modified feature over Jeff Bland Jr., Jared Bailey, Clint DeMoss and Greg Amick. Quinton Strope won the hornet feature over Justin Patterson, Chris Corbin, Adam Bowman and Jack Weir.

No posts to display