Thumbs-Up, Thumbs-Down – May 28


Lending a hand

Thumbs up to the 12 freshmen in Sherry Settle’s biology and earth science classes at Crothersville High School. The students recently spent a day planting flowers and pulling weeds at Bard Street Park and a second day cleaning and straightening gravestones at Crothersville Cemetery.

Sectional champs

Thumbs up to the 29th-ranked Seymour girls tennis team for winning the Seymour Sectional a week ago by beating Trinity Lutheran 5-0. Members of the Owls squad are Brooke Schafstall, Sandy Cerino, Kirby Hill, Mallory Moore, Avery Ragon, Madalyn Baurle and Elise Hartung. 

Thumbs up to the Seymour girls and boys track and field teams for winning sectional titles. A related thumbs up to Owls winning individual events. For the girls, that would be the 4×800 meter relay team of Hayley Harpe, Brooke Trinkle, Samantha Jacobi and Vivienne Siefker; Trinkle, 1600-meter run; Harpe, 400-meter dash; Trinkle, 800-meter run; the 4×400 meter relay team of Addison Lemon, Sydney Montgomery, Trinkle and Harpe; and Lara Skaggs, pole vault.

Brownstown Central’s Avery Koch and Kaylyn Holman also earned thumbs up — Koch for winning the shot put and discus and Holman for winning the 3200 meter run.

At Tuesday’s regional, Koch won the discus to advance to the state meet, and Trinkle won the 1600 to also move on to state.

Boys winning individual sectional events include Josh Pennington, 110-meter hurdles; the 4×100 meter relay team of Pennington, Elijah Abner, Chandler Drummond and Reid Kruse; Brandon Kleber, 3200 meter run; and Drummond, pole vault.

Best in class

Thumbs up to Crothersville’s Addison Otte, who finished first in her age group in the Indiana Junior Duck Stamp Contest at Muscatatuck National Wildlife Refuge in Seymour. The contest, which drew 286 entries in four age groups, promotes learning about waterfowl and conservation by creating art.

Top teacher

Thumbs up to Rachel Stangland with Schneck Medical Center in Seymour, who was one of six Indiana University-Purdue University Columbus 2020 Preceptor of the Year Award recipients. The award recognizes the role preceptors play in nursing education and is given to volunteer instructors from each of the clinical partner hospitals that work with IUPUC students. 

Excellent work

Thumbs up to Brownstown Elementary School third-graders and to teacher Beth Shelton for their wax museum project and especially to The Tribune’s Zach Spicer for his excellent presentation of the project in the May 17 edition of The Tribune to share with the community.

Billie Wintin, Seymour

No posts to display