Foundation welcomes new board members


Members of nonprofit boards of directors play important and valuable roles for area organizations such as the Boys and Girls Club of Seymour, the Jackson County United Way and, of course, the Community Foundation of Jackson County.

In April, three area residents joined the Foundation Board of Directors as three veteran members completed their final terms.

Joining the Foundation Board are Dr. Eric Fish of Washington Township, Nate Tormoehlen of Seymour and Donald Schnitker of Hamilton Township. Leaving the Board after serving it for 10 years are Priscilla Wischmeier of Seymour, Gary Meyer of Washington Township and Darrell Persinger of Medora.


“The Board of Directors of the Community Foundation of Jackson County is pleased to welcome our new members,” said Susan Bevers, who is chair of our Governance Committee. “We are honored that they are willing to give their time and talents to the Community Foundation and that they see the value of the Foundation for all citizens of Jackson County.”

The Foundation administers more than 200 funds that provide earnings to finance grants and scholarships to programs and high school graduates throughout Jackson County. Members of the Board of Directors help the Foundation in many ways, from sharing our story with the community to participating in the grant and scholarship review processes.


They also help with fundraising, a vital part of every nonprofit organization.

The Foundation looks forward to putting our new Board members — Fish, Schnitker and Tormoehlen — to work. Each will bring their own personalities, expectations and experiences to the Board of Directors along with a shared interest in serving our community. All three have some familiarity with the Foundation and our work.


Schnitker said he was looking forward to continuing his community service through working with the Foundation as his time commitments to other organizations drew to a close.

“I was looking for another worthwhile organization to contribute to after leaving some other responsibilities,” he said. The Cortland farmer will retire as the Hamilton Township Volunteer Fire Department Fire Chief in December.

Recognizing the work of the Foundation and how it fits with his goals interested Tormoehlen in serving on the Board of Directors.

“I want to help facilitate long-term sustainable change in our community,” he said. Tormoehlen, a partner at Beatty Insurance, has served on the boards of the United Way and Seymour Chamber and currently sits on the Jackson County Education Coalition board and the Seymour Redevelopment Commission.

Fish said he is eager to “continue the great work the Foundation does for our community.” He is the president and chief executive officer at Schneck Medical Center and is involved with the boards of directors for Jackson County Industrial Development Corp. and the Boys & Girls Club of Seymour.

Representing all of Jackson County on our Board of Directors is important to our mission and important to the Foundation and its Board of Directors. When the Foundation was created in 1992, those founding directors made it clear that the organization would serve all of Jackson County, not just Brownstown or Seymour.

Our bylaws reflect that commitment. They map out representation from all corners of the county and communities in between. Selection of board members ensures that goal, Board Chair Andy Royalty said.

“The Foundation strives to reach all corners of Jackson County, and the Board of Directors is vital to our continued success in helping the community,” Royalty added. “The expertise and knowledge of each director is fundamental to continue to provide for citizens of Jackson County for generations to come.”

We will miss having Priscilla, Gary and Darrell on our Board, helping us meet our missions. They have all been tireless in their work with our Grant Committee and Scholarship Committee. They have been instrumental in sharing the story of work with others in the community and building interest in that work. We appreciate that they will continue to share our story as the Foundation continues to grow better tomorrows.

Dan Davis is president and CEO of the Community Foundation of Jackson County, 107 Community Drive, Seymour, IN 47274. For information about donating to the foundation, call 812-523-4483 or send an email to [email protected]. Send comments to [email protected].

No posts to display