Hometown Heroes: Alex Moss


The Tribune is spotlighting local law enforcement and first responders.

Whether they are police officers, firefighters, emergency medical services personnel or dispatchers, these men and women in uniform are highly trained to serve and protect their communities.

Name: Alex L. Moss

Age: 29

Hometown: Henryville

Residence: Crothersville

Education: Way of Peace Christian in Underwood

Occupation: 911 dispatcher for the Seymour Police Department and volunteer firefighter for the Crothersville-Vernon Township Fire Department

Years of service: Six months as a 911 dispatcher and two years as a firefighter

Previous career experience: I was a locomotive engineer for Louisville and Indiana Railroad Co.

What made you want to become a first responder?

Being a volunteer firefighter has been something I wanted to do since living so close to the fire station in Crothersville for the last three years. I finally was able to meet up with firefighters there, where they welcomed me with open arms. I then saw an opening for a 911 dispatcher position at the Seymour Police Department and decided to apply since I enjoyed helping people in a time of need.

Did you have any influences in choosing your career?

My father was a volunteer firefighter many years ago, and I remember him taking my brother and I to the fire station sometimes as kids, which I think interested me a little bit, for sure.

What do you like about your current position?

I really enjoy helping people in a time of need.

What does it mean to you to serve your community and help people?

It really means a lot that I have gotten this opportunity to help the citizens of Crothersville and Seymour in different aspects. I have enjoyed every step of the way.

Many people refer to first responders as heroes. Why would you consider a first responder heroic?

I don’t believe I am a hero. I just believe God put me on this earth to be able to help people on their worst days. Just a citizen who enjoys helping the community.

Do you have any hobbies outside of your day job?

I really enjoy having family time with my wife and two sons, photography and anything motorsports related.

Favorite music genre: Metal, rock and a little country

Favorite food: Mexican and Italian

Favorite TV show: “9-1-1” and “9-1-1: Lone Star”

Favorite movie: I don’t have a favorite, but I enjoy a funny comedy flick

Favorite sports team: Cincinnati Reds (baseball) and Indianapolis Colts (football)

Favorite vacation spot: Great Smoky Mountains in Tennessee

Role model: My late father

Best advice: To never stop chasing your dreams

No posts to display