Two selected for HARF Hall of Fame

Two drivers who faced off many times in the 1960s and ’70s, Allen Barr of Columbus and the late Larry Miller of Oolitic, have been named in the Class of 2021 to the Hoosier Auto Race Fans Hall of Fame.

Barr, who tuned 84 in January, began his racing career at “The Hole” Columbus Speedway in the 1950s at the age of 15. He raced under his brother Gene’s name for a few years because he was not old enough to compete according to age requirement rules at the time.

After racing jalopy-style cars, he then became a standout in midget car competition before settling into a long and distinguished career in super modified racing, which was the precursor to sprint cars.

Toward the end of his racing career, Barr raced a late model and open wheel modified. He frequently raced at several tracks across central and southern Indiana. Perhaps his greatest success came at Paragon and Kokomo speedways.

Barr was a three-time winner of Paragon’s Midwest National Championship Race, a 150-lap race for super modifieds/sprints, where he won those three long-distance races for three different car owners. He won the event in 1965, 1970 and 1973.

In 1961, following a stint in the former Bill Fleetwood No. F-800, Barr landed a ride in Fleetwood’s new Chevrolet super modified. During this time frame, the South Central Indiana Racing Association was formed. It was a three-track circuit consisting of the 25th Street Fairgrounds Raceway in Columbus and Bloomington and Paragon speedways.

In 1965, Barr hooked up with Columbus car owner Jack Cookson and his No. 89 car. Together, Barr and Cookson won more than 100 races with the car. Cookson died in 2012.

In 1965, 1966 and 1967, then-Eldora Speedway owner and promoter Earl Baltes held three 500-lap races for super modified and sprint cars. Barr was the only driver in the history of the event to have three podium finishes at the Rossburg, Ohio, speed plant. Barr recorded two second-place finishes and a third-place run utilizing the same right rear tire.

In 1969, Barr was asked to drive a newly designed sprint car for Lloyd and Jack Shores. The Shores Machine that Barr drove ran most of its races on three wheels with the left front almost entirely off the ground while the rear tires were digging into the dirt for better traction.

Barr raced a dirt late model a few times for Scott McKeand of North Vernon before getting behind the wheel of his son Bret’s open wheel modified. Barr drove his son’s car from 1999 through 2004 as they captured the 1999 modified track championship at Lawrenceburg.

In 2013, Barr was invited to a vintage race at Eldora Speedway, where he strapped himself into a sprinter one last time, which ended a brilliant seven-decade career.

Miller, who died in 2012 at the age of 76, retired from racing in 1977 after a successful career that included six track titles at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, four at Paragon Speedway and two at Bloomington Speedway.

Miller was best known for his days driving Karl Kinser’s yellow No. 22 racer.

After returning from a stint in the U.S. Army, Miller began racing stock cars in 1956 at Bloomington and Mitchell. After several years of racing coupes, he transitioned to super modifieds and sprint cars in 1964.

Columbus Speedway announces 2021 schedule

Columbus Speedway Go-Kart Racing, which conducts events at the Bartholomew County 4-H Fairgrounds in Columbus, has announced its 2021 racing schedule.

Promoter Tim Reed has announced as of right now, all races will be ran on the quarter-mile track.

April 17 First race

May 14-15 Burris King of Columbus

May 29 Racing

June 5 Racing

June 19 Racing

June 28 Bartholomew County Fair Race

June 26 Racing

July 8 Decatur County Fair Race

July 17 Racing

July 24 Racing

Aug 7 Racing

Aug 27-28 Burris Midwest Dirt Classic

Sept. 11 Racing

Sept. 18 Racing

Oct. 2 Racing

Oct. 23 Racing

Setser to Tackle Lucas Oil NOW600 Series in 2021

For the fourth year of his racing career, Gunnar Setser of Columbus is preparing for his most ambitious season to date.

The 12-year-old racer is setting his sights on the complete slate of the Lucas Oil National Open Wheel 600 (NOW600) Series presented by Hi-Plains Building Division, where he’ll compete in the Winged A-Class Micro division.

The busy season will take Setser to more than a dozen tracks strewn across at least six states. While he’ll be visiting many of the tracks for the first time, Gunnar is excited to take on new challenges.

“I really appreciate my mom and dad along with all of my sponsors for giving me the chance to go race a tour," he said.

"I know it’s going to be a challenging year going to a bunch of new tracks and racing against tough competition every night, but I know that it’ll just make me a better driver,” said Setser, who was a 10-time feature winner in 2020. “I’m thrilled to get the year underway in Oklahoma.”

For 2021, Setser is once again utilizing D1 Chassis along with Lineman power under the hood of his familiar No. G5.

For information, visit For the latest team news and updates, visit

Florence opener today

Weather permitting, Florence Speedway in Union, Kentucky, plans to kick off its new racing season today with the 45th annual Spring 50, which will pay $10,000 to win for super late models.

Also on the racing program will be open wheel modifieds and crate late models. Florence will have earlier start times than normal with pit gates opening at noon and hot laps beginning at 3 p.m.

For information, visit

Brownstown opener next Saturday

The Brownstown Speedway will open its 2021 racing season March 20 with the 24th annual Indiana Icebreaker.

The racing program will consist of a $15,000-to-win main event for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series along with the open wheel modifieds and pure stocks.

For information, visit

This week in racing history

From 2011, Brownstown Speedway opened its racing season with Dillan White winning the late model feature over Michael Chilton, Tim Rivers, Joe Janowski and Derek Fisher. Ryan Thomas took the modified feature race over Nick Allen, McKay Wenger, Jeff Curl and Rob Fuqua.

Tim Clark won the super stock main event over Jeremy Hines, Troy Clark, Jay Deckard and Chris Hillman. Ryan Hehman was victorious in the hornet division feature over Lucas Jackson, Cody Perry, Wesley Napier and Alex Terrell.

No posts to display