Larson winning everywhere he drives


In only his second career start in a dirt late model, open wheel sensation Kyle Larson led all 50 laps to win the Aug. 29 Rumble by the River at Port Royal Speedway in Pennsylvania.

Larson crossed the finish line .499 seconds ahead of Silver Dollar Nationals winner Brandon Sheppard to become the 17th different winner this year in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.

Gregg Satterlee, who came into the weekend with four wins at Port Royal in 2020, crossed the finish line in third, followed by Chris Ferguson and the Aug. 27 winner, Tim McCreadie.

Larson entered the weekend as the winningest open wheel driver in the nation, including capturing championships in the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals in January, 2020 Indiana Midget Week Championship and Pennsylvania Speedweeks Championship for sprint cars.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]

In his last three visits to Port Royal, Larson had three wins in a winged sprint car, but he had to contend Sheppard and Hudson O’Neal for the first 27 laps of the race until O’Neal slowed with a flat right rear tire.

It appeared that would leave Larson and Sheppard to battle for the win, but Satterlee and Ferguson joined the fray. With less than five laps to go, there were three other drivers chasing Larson in traffic.

O’Neal, driving a Rocket Chassis for PCC Motorsports based in Hope, ran as high as second to Larson in the race but suffered a right rear flat tire on Lap 27. He finished 14th in the final rundown.

The 28-year-old California native, who has recorded 34 wins in open wheel racing this year, added a dirt late model win to his impressive résumé this year.

“No doubt this is probably one of, if not the biggest, wins ever of my career,” Larson said. “To climb into something that’s way different than I have ever been in and to have success with a great team just means a lot.”

Larson’s first career start in a late model came only shortly beforehand at Port Royal, where he finished fifth.

“It was a tough race,” Larson said. “I really didn’t know where to run. Sheppard showed his nose there the one time earlier in the race, and I wasn’t sure what to do. We got a caution, and my crew told me to move up in three and four, and I never saw anybody after that. I was just trying to take care of my tires, take care of my right side and keep it clean for 50 laps.”

Larson was mostly in command.

“I could run hard for a couple of laps and get back to a pace I wanted,” he said. “I tried to take care of my tires. Obviously, I am new to this, and everything I hear about late models is a tire game. I was just trying to take care of my stuff. The curb was getting really big in one and two. I was just trying to keep it out of the wall.”

The winner’s Lee Roy and Kevin Rumley Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and sponsored by D and E Marine, Rumley Engineering, Lucas Oil Products, Bilstein Shocks and Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas.

Completing the top 10 were Earl Pearson Jr., Jimmy Owens, Kyle Strickler, Mason Zeigler and Rick Eckert.

Brownstown attracts large field of cars

With nearly 200 race cars, Brownstown Speedway hosted a five-division card of racing Aug. 29.

Shawn Durbin was the big winner, taking the hornet special that paid $1,500 to win. Durbin started deep in the lineup after having to win a B-main to make the race. Michael Freimuth was second, followed by Owen Cosman, Kyle Willoughby and Jeremy Reed.

Shelby Miles won the pro late model feature over Tyler Neal, Raymond Humphrey, Marty O’Neal and Brad Barrow. It was Miles’ fifth Brownstown win of the season.

Jordan Wever took the open wheel modified feature race over Earl Plessinger, Jacoby Hines, Adam Stricker and Cole Falloway. It was Wever’s first win at Brownstown.

Branden Carr won the super stock main over Matt Boknecht, Jamey Wilson, Tucker Chastain and Mike Fields. It was Carr’s first win of the year.

Dusten Carr was victorious in the pure stock feature over Dalton Fleenor, Edgar Godsey, D.J. Dunn and Dalton Roark. It was Carr’s fourth straight win in the division.

Tonight, Brownstown will host a regular show for the pro late models, modifieds, super stocks, pure stocks and hornets. For information, visit

Setser wins again at Logansport

Gunnar Setser of Columbus returned to U.S. 24 Speedway in Logansport on Aug. 29 and left with his ninth triumph of the 2020 season.

In a field of 21 A-Class Winged Micro entries, Setser started his night by setting QuickTime in his qualifying group. Starting his heat race in fourth, Setser advanced two spots to finish second, earning him the pole position for the 30-lap A-Main.

Charging to the lead at the drop of the green flag, Setser raced to his second straight victory at U.S. 24 Speedway. Jack Hoyer, Cale Coons, Seth Pugh and Greyson Springer rounded out the top five.

This week in racing history

From 1950 at 25th Street Fairgrounds Raceway in Columbus, Pat O’Connor won the Mutual Racing Association feature race over Chester Pratt, Wayne Alspaugh and Ted Reguli.

From 60 years ago at 25th Street, Mike Johnson won the feature over Bill Dugger, Calvin Gilstrap and Orville Yeadon.

From 1970 at Brownstown Speedway, Teako Ray won the late model feature over Dennis Boknecht, Luther Burton, Ira Bastin and Kenny Simpson.

Also from 1970 at Paragon Speedway, Rex Mitchell won the sprint car feature over Chub Willis, Orville Yeadon, Allen Barr and Frank Hollingsworth.

In 1970 at Haubstadt, Larry Miller won the sprint car feature over Rex Mitchell and Bob Kinser. Don Turpin won the late model feature over Jerry Phillips and Bill Beck.

From 1970 at Sun Valley Speedway in Anderson, Tom York won the feature over Benny Rapp, Dick Gaines and Butch Wilkerson.

From 1980 at Charlestown Motor Speedway, Russ Petro won the late model feature over Dusty Chapman, Gerald Dixon, Eddie Carrier Sr. and Tommy Day. John Mull won the hobby stock feature over Denny Long, Bobby Carrier Sr., Sam Murphy and Steve Boley. Willie Sallee won the street stock feature over Millard Moore and R.C. Calton.

Also from 1980 at Lawrenceburg, Danny Smith won the sprint car feature race over Lee Osborne, Van Gurley, Marvin Deputy and Kent Christian.

In 1980 from Whitewater Valley Speedway in Liberty, John Lawhorn won the late model feature over Bob Smith, Billy Brandenburg, Dennis Moore and Bill McCall.

From 1990 at Haubstadt, Eric Davis won the sprint car feature over Gary Trammell, Kevin Briscoe, Gary Hayhurst Jr. and Rickey Hood. Kevin Claycomb won the late model feature over Mike Gibbs and Bob Pierce.

No posts to display