Swanson sets record in Salem

Throughout the annals of USAC Silver Crown’s 50-year history, no driver’s statistical output stacks up to Kody Swanson’s.

That has been proven time and time again, as the Kingsburg, California, native has illustrated his very own record book during his illustrious career.

On Aug. 15, he became the first driver in series history to reach 30 poles and 30 wins in a career.

Swanson reached another record that once seemed unbreakable — that being Pancho Carter’s four consecutive Joe James-Pat O’Connor Memorial victories between 1974 and 1977.

[sc:text-divider text-divider-title=”Story continues below gallery” ]

Swanson accomplished that at Salem Speedway, pressing leader Bobby Santos throughout the first two-thirds of the 75-lap race before taking the lead in traffic with a spectacular three-wide pass on the outside of Turn 1 on the 50th lap.

Then he held serve on a couple of late-race restarts to capture the win after previous victories in the event in 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019.

“Being second, you have the benefit because you can go where they aren’t,” Swanson said. “Tonight, a couple times, it got a little hairy and didn’t work. I don’t know if there’s anything more Pancho for me than taking the lead three-wide in Turn 1 on the outside at Salem.”

Swanson was deferential to Carter.

“I don’t know if I deserve to be in the company (of Pancho), but I sure do appreciate the honor,” he said.

The victory for Swanson aboard the Nolen Racing/KECO Coatings/Goodridge/K and N Filters/Beast/Tranter Chevy at Salem bested Bobby Santos, Aaron Pierce, Justin Grant and Derek Bischak.

North Vernon attracts 144 Outlaw Karts

North Vernon-based Jennings County Outlaw Karting Racing, which holds events at the Jennings County 4-H Fairgrounds, conducted the Kristina Everroad Memorial races Aug. 7 with 144 karts on hand.

Division winners were Colby Robinson (senior champ), Zach Roell (rookies), Jake Roell (junior 1), Jacob Chadd (junior 2), Evan Shatto (junior 3), Kevin Cunningham (rwyb and fatheads), Sam Alloway (limited open), Peyton Watts (beginner boxstock outlaw), Parker Perry (boxstock outlaw), Connor Perry (youth champ), Ryker Williams (jr. champ), Isaac Johnson (340 clone), Chris Buchanan (380 clone) and T.J. Garris (400 clone).

McCreadie wins Florence biggie

Tim McCreadie came from the 20th starting spot to win the 38th annual Sunoco North-South 100 presented by Lucas Oil on Aug. 15 at Florence Speedway in Union, Kentucky.

McCreadie took the lead on Lap 87 from Jimmy Owens, the current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series points leader, who finished third. Brandon Overton got around Owens late to finish second. Chris Ferguson and Dale McDowell completed the top five.

The rest of the top 10 finishers were Josh Richards, Hudson O’Neal, Earl Pearson Jr., Shane Clanton and Billy Moyer Jr.

This was McCreadie’s second $50,000 victory of 2020. His first one came in June at Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio, where he won the Dirt Late Model Stream Invitational.

Lawrenceburg special tonight

Lawrenceburg Speedway will be back in action tonight with the Dick Gaines Memorial Race for sprint cars. Also on the docket are modifieds, pure stocks and hornets.

For information, visit lawrenceburgspeedway.com.

Brownstown off tonight

Brownstown Speedway will be idle again tonight. The next racing program is scheduled for Aug. 29 with a hornet special. Also competing will be pro late models, modifieds, super stocks and pure stocks.

For information, visit brownstownspeedway.com.

This week in racing history

In 1950 at 25th Street Fairgrounds Raceway in Columbus, Pat O’Connor won the Mutual Racing Association feature over Everett Burton, Max Humm, Bud Randall and Smokey Stover.

From 1960 at Brownstown Speedway, Cecil Beavers won the feature over Mike Johnson, Bob Kinser and Don Burroughs.

From 1960 at 25th Street in Columbus, Bill Paynter won the three-quarter midget feature over Sonny Ates, Bud Montgomery, Allen Barr and Dale Zellner.

From 1970 at Brownstown, Cecil Beavers won the late model feature race over Teako Ray, Ira Bastin, Don Hobbs and Dennis Boknecht.

From 1970 at Bloomington Speedway, Dick Gaines won the sprint car feature over Bob Kinser, Calvin Gilstrap, Larry Miller and Mike Johnson.

From 1970 at Haubstadt, Larry Miller won the sprint car feature over Rex Mitchell, Gene Henson, Chuck Amati and Bob Kinser.

From 1970 at Whitewater Valley Speedway in Liberty, Floyd Gilbert won the late model feature over Gene Petro and Dick DeBolt.

From 1980, the Inaugural Jackson 100 was held at Brownstown as Charlie Swartz won the event over Ray Godsey, Paul Crockett, David Speer and Tom Helfrich. Cooley Singer won the hobby stock feature over Gary Barrow, Norm Swift, Mike Hauer and Ray Weston.

From 1980 at Charlestown Motor Speedway, Russ Petro won the late model feature over Charlie Swartz, Paul Crockett, Dusty Chapman and Ira Bastin. Steve Boley won the hobby stock feature over Denny Long, Sam Murphy, Mike Jewell and Bob Gullion. Ed Cundiff won the street stock feature over Willie Sallee, Earl Plessinger, Jim Short and Kike Brown.

From 1980 at Twin Cities, Buck Ridenour won the late model feature over Gary Herbert, Steve Boley, Darrell Smallwood and Roger Sullivan. Jim Short won the street stock feature over Don Walp, Bucky Ross, Mark Bruce and Larry Plessinger.

From 1990 at Brownstown, Steve Barnett won the late model feature over Ray Godsey, Doug Ault, Randy Woodling and Gary Barrow. Mark Barber took the street stock feature over Tony Godsey, Earl Plessinger, Jeff Terry and Darin George. Tom Allman won the bomber feature over Bob Johnson, Brad Schlehuser, Murl Robinson and Randy Petro.

From 1990 at Paragon, Gary Trammell won the sprint car feature over Chuck Amati, Mark Cummins, Randy Kinser and Kevin Thomas.

From 1990 at Haubstadt, Kevin Briscoe won the sprint car feature over Craig Keel, Bob Thoman, Tom Tepe and Chuck Amati.

From 2000, Don O’Neal won the Jackson 100 at Brownstown over Rick Aukland, Shannon Babb, Greg Johnson and Scott James. Greg O’Neill won the super stock feature over Joe Johnson, Brad Cummings, Mike Fields and Tim Clark.

No posts to display